Skip repetitive navigation links.
United States Department of Agriculture Farm Services Agency Nebraska
Go to State Office Home Page Go to FSA Home Go to About FSA Go to Newsroom Go to Online Services Go to Forms Go to Help Go to Contact Us Go to Spanish Languages
Search FSA
Go To Search Tips
Browse by Subject
Go to County Committee Minutes
Go to County Offices
Go to County Pcp Data
Go to Daily LDP Rates
Go to Programs
Go to News Letters
Go to State Committee Minutes
Go to State Events
Go to State News Releases

News Releases

Printable Version
For Immediate Release
October 31, 2013

Dan Steinkruger, State Executive Director, at (402) 437-5581 or

Nebraska Counties Receive Administrator’s Physical Loss Notice Due to Winter Storm Conditions

(LINCOLN, NE) October 31, 2013 - Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, announced three counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to physical damage and losses caused by the severe winter storm conditions affecting the northwest part of Nebraska. Those counties are: Dawes, Sheridan and Sioux.

These counties received the physical loss notification on October 30, 2013. “The three counties that received the Administrator’s Physical Loss Notification suffered livestock losses due to freezing rain, high winds and heavy snow,” said Steinkruger.

In addition there are six counties in Nebraska that are contiguous where eligible family farmers may qualify for emergency physical loss loan assistance. These contiguous counties are: Box Butte, Cherry, Garden, Grant, Morrill and Scottsbluff.

This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers. Steinkruger stated, “Producers are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated disaster designations.”

Emergency Loan applications are available for qualifying physical losses caused by these disaster conditions. Physical losses include structures, equipment and livestock. These loans do require security and the ability to repay the loan. The deadline for submitting applications is June 30, 2014. In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.

Contact your local FSA Service Center or access additional information about FSA Disaster Assistance and Farm Loan programs at

While this release pertains to the availability of FSA programs, other federal agencies such as FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) and SBA (Small Business Administration) may also have assistance to the public. Information is available from these two agencies at the following websites: and

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

twitter FaceBook widget Ask FSA Fence Post RSS YouTube

Media Help
 To view PDF files you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer.

To view Flash files you must have Adobe Flash Player installed on your computer.

FSA Home | | Common Questions | Site Map | Policies and Links
FOIA | Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy | Nondiscrimination Statement | Information Quality | | White House