Skip repetitive navigation links.
United States Department of AgricultureFarm Services AgencySystem Development Life Cycle (SDLC)
Go to SDLC Home Go to SDLC Home Go to About SDLC Go to News Go to Help Go to Contact Us
Search FSA
Go To Advanced Search
Go To Search Tips
FSA Enterprise Architecture
Go to EA Overview
Go to Enterprise Architecture Program
Go to Enterprise Architecture
Go to FSA Infrastructure
Go to SDLC Overview
Go to Background
Go to Development Process
Go to Quick Start Guide
Go to FSA Quality Assurance & Control Process
Go to Project Management Process
Go to Configuration and Change Management
Mainframe & System 36 SDLC
Browse by Subject
Go to Developer Tools Overview
Go to Architectural Decisions/Waivers
Go to FSA Assets and Shared Services
Go to Approved Software
Go to Templates and Documents
Go to Information Bulletins & Memos
Browse by Subject
Go to Learning Overview
Go to Training Schedule
Development Process

Detailed Design Phase



The Detailed Design phase builds on the existing design to incorporate technology choices and performance requirements and ensures compliance with the FSA Reference Architecture. A limited amount of construction/testing activities may occur in an effort to refine and validate the design.

What To Do

During this phase, the development team will:

  • Elaborate Design - Build on the High Level Design by incorporating language specific design patterns and mechanisms and identifying dependencies, attributes, state, associations, etc.
  • Integrate with Target Environment - Refine the design to consider choices in technology (i.e., SQL Server, WebSphere, etc.), FSA components (i.e., SCIMS, CBS, eAuth, etc.), and infrastructure constraints.
  • Plan Deployments - Determine how and when the deployment unit (EAR file, JAR file, etc.) will be made available.
  • Specify Test Details - Identify the test cases including descriptions, inputs, execution conditions, and expected results.
  • Finalize the project's Architectural Decisions.

Developers should use FSA templates and style sheets for Web page development. The templates support multiple browsers; however, individual browsers may display Web pages differently based on space and size configurations. These templates can be found via the following links: HTML Templates, Struts Templates. See the Coding Practices page for more detailed information.

Database Management Office (DBMO)

Interaction with the DBMO will likely occur during every phase of the SDLC. During this phase the DBMO may be contacted to support the development team with the physical design of the application. This may also be when the creation and maintenance of audit tables takes place within the FSA databases.

Additionally, DBMO has detailed specific requirements for the security model of the FSA Microsoft SQL Server 2005 platform database environment that should be considered during this phase. Users will be granted permissions via assignment to database security roles. No direct permissions are granted to user IDs. The security roles consist of:

  • Read Only - authority to read data in all current and future tables within the database(s).
  • Read/Write - provides permission to read and write data in all current and future tables within the database(s).
  • Execute - provides permission to execute all current and future stored procedures within the database(s).
  • Restricted Access - grants access to specified tables and/or stored procedures or other objects within the database, the tables, views, etc.

For more information regarding the SQL Server 2005 security model, refer to the Developer Resource - Security Policy for SQL 2005.

Certification & Accreditation (C&A)

C&A documentation to consider during this phase: Business Impact Analysis, Preliminary Risk Assessment, Security Controls Compliance Matrix, System Security Plan.

Contact the Information Security Office for further details regarding specific efforts relevant to this phase of the SDLC.

Core Artifacts:

Physical Data Model (engage with the Database Management Office)
Design Model
- Unit
- Integration
- Unit
- Integration

Optional or Supporting Artifacts:


The source code for the Physical Data Model is also available.

Last Modified: 07/01/15 1:35:10 PM

SDLC Home | FSA Home | | Common Questions | Site Map | Policies and Links
FOIA | Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy | Nondiscrimination Statement | Information Quality | | White House