

NEWS RELEASE

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE • FARM SERVICE AGENCY

USDA Farm Service Agency 445 West Street Amherst, MA 01002

USDA Designates 2 Counties in Massachusetts as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Amherst, Massachusetts, June 22, 2011 – The Farm Service Agency State Executive Director Richard Burke would like to inform producers that Hampden and Worcester Counties in Massachusetts have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to physical damage and losses caused by tornadoes that occurred on June 1, 2011.

In addition, Berkshire, Franklin, Hampshire, Middlesex and Norfolk Counties in Massachusetts are named as contiguous disaster counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA emergency physical loss loan assistance, pursuant to section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act.

Also, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent States that are contiguous to one or more primary counties in Massachusetts will be named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA emergency physical loss loan assistance. Those counties and States are: Hartford, Litchfield, Tolland and Windham counties in Connecticut; Cheshire and Hillsborough counties in New Hampshire; and Providence county in Rhode Island.

Effective June 15, 2011, emergency loans may be made available to any applicant with a qualifying physical loss in the counties named. This approval is limited to applicants who suffered SEVERE PHYSICAL LOSSES ONLY, in accordance with the provisions of the Farmers Home Administration (FmHA) Instruction 1945-A, section 1945.20(c). This notification is coded N1075. Emergency loan applications will be received until February 15, 2012.

Please contact your local FSA office for further information and assistance.