August 2017





Farm Service Agency Electronic News Service

NEWSLETTER

GovDelivery

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

- 2016 PLC Payment Rates and ARC Actual Prices for Wheat, Barley and Oats
- A Microloan Helps Producer with a New Tractor and New Way of Life
- Farm Storage Facility Loans
- NAP Producers have 72 Hours to Report Losses!!!!
- Payments to Deceased Producers
- MAL and LDP Policy

New Jersey State FSA Newsletter

New Jersey Farm Service Agency

300 Clocktower Dr, Ste 202 Hamilton Square, NJ 08690

Phone:

609-587-0104

www.fsa.usda.gov/nj

State Committee:

Russell J. Marino, Chair Mary Jo Herbert

State Executive Director:

Herni Ann Olsen (Acting)

Farm Loan Chief:

Kevin P. Murphy

Please contact your <u>local FSA</u>
<u>Office</u> for questions specific to your operation or county

2016 PLC Payment Rates and ARC Actual Prices for Wheat, Barley and Oats

The Agricultural Act of 2014 provides for payments for covered commodities through the Price Loss Coverage (PLC) program when the market year average price is below the reference price. Agricultural Risk Coverage (ARC) program payments are triggered when the actual revenue is below the guarantee established for the program.

The Marketing Year Average (MYA) price for wheat, barley and oats was announced June 29, resulting in a PLC payment rate of \$1.61 per bushel for 2016 wheat and \$0.34 per bushel for 2016 oats. There is no PLC payment on 2016 barley.

For Agriculture Loss Coverage – County (ARC-CO), actual crop revenue is calculated by multiplying the actual average yield for your county times the higher of the MYA price or the national loan rate. For 2016, the following prices have been set – wheat at \$3.89 per bushel; barley at \$4.96 per bushel; and oats at \$2.06 per bushel. 2016 county yields will not be available until this fall.

Agriculture Loss Coverage—Individual Option (ARC-IC) will utilize the same prices as ARC-CO, however the actual crop revenue cannot be calculated until participating producers report all production for all covered commodities planted on the farm and all

Important Dates:

September 1: NAP Coverage Deadline for value loss crops including: aquaculture, Christmas trees, ornamental nursery, and sod for 2018 crop year

September 4: Offices Closed for Labor Day

September 30: Acreage Reporting Deadline for value loss crops for 2018 crop year including, but not limited to, Christmas trees, aquaculture, or ornamental nursery, MYA prices for all covered commodities planted on the farm are known. Both of these items are necessary to calculate the ARC-IC actual revenue for the farm.

All 2016 ARC and PLC payments cannot be made until after Oct. 1, 2017, or the announcement of the final 2016 MYA price for the applicable covered commodity.

For information on release dates for MYA prices, ARC-CO yields and projected and final PLC payment rates, visit www.fsa.usda.gov/arc-plc and click on the "ARC/PLC Program Data" link.

A Microloan Helps Producer with a New Tractor and New Way of Life

By Lauren Moore and Dana Rogge, FSA Public Affairs Specialists

In the 1960s, the White brothers, James and Dallas, began a partnership known today as White Farms in <u>Barbour County</u>, West Virginia. After the deaths of both brothers, the legacy of their cow/calf operation has been carried on by James' wife, Joyce, and his children, James Jr. and Tammy.

Since 2014, Tammy has taken over the daily operation of the farm.

"The most difficult part about being a farmer is finding the time to get everything finished. There is always something to do. When I'm not at the farm, I'm a civil education and health teacher at a middle school," she said. "Throughout the school year, I get up and go to work and I take care of the farm after school. I feed the cattle, check to see if any of the cows are going to calve and take care of any repairs."

Tammy considered closing the family business after multiple tractor breakdowns. She heard about the USDA Farm Service Agency's (FSA) <u>Microloan program</u> for <u>beginning farmers</u> through a friend. She contacted and worked with her local FSA Farm Loan Officer, Chris Winslow, to get started.

"It was a hardship just for her to get her cattle fed in the winter and trying to keep her older equipment up and going," Winslow said.

FSA Microloans are focused on the financing needs of small, beginning farmer, niche and non-traditional farm operations, such as truck farms, farms participating in direct marketing and sales such as farmers' markets, Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) operations, restaurants and grocery stores, or those using hydroponic, aquaponic, organic and vertical growing methods.

Through her microloan, White was able to purchase a new tractor with a loader and round bailer.

"The tractor has four-wheel drive, which we didn't have before. The baler made everything much more efficient," she said. "It's so much easier to feed the cattle now."

Winslow said the new equipment also alleviates any safety issues that White might have had navigating a two-wheel drive tractor through the hills of West Virginia.

"She is tickled over the tractor," Winslow said. "That's her baby. It's pretty much made life a whole lot easier on her."

For more information about FSA Microloans, contact your local FSA office or visit www.fsa.usda.gov. To find your local FSA office, visit https://offices.usda.gov.

Farm Storage Facility Loans

FSA's Farm Storage Facility Loan (FSFL) program provides low-interest financing to producers to build or upgrade storage facilities and to purchase portable (new or used) structures, equipment and storage and handling trucks.

The low-interest funds can be used to build or upgrade permanent facilities to store commodities. Eligible commodities include corn, grain sorghum, rice, soybeans, oats, peanuts, wheat, barley, minor oilseeds harvested as whole grain, pulse crops (lentils, chickpeas and dry peas), hay, honey, renewable biomass, fruits, nuts and vegetables for cold storage facilities, floriculture, hops, maple sap, rye, milk, cheese, butter, yogurt, meat and poultry (unprocessed), eggs, and aquaculture (excluding systems that maintain live animals through uptake and discharge of water). Qualified facilities include grain bins, hay barns and cold storage facilities for eligible commodities.

Loans up to \$50,000 can be secured by a promissory note/security agreement and loans between \$50,000 and \$100,000 may require additional security. Loans exceeding \$100,000 require additional security.

Producers do not need to demonstrate the lack of commercial credit availability to apply. The loans are designed to assist a diverse range of farming operations, including small and mid-sized businesses, new farmers, operations supplying local food and farmers markets, non-traditional farm products, and underserved producers.

Farm Storage Facility Loan (FSFL) Program Rates for August 2017

- 3 year loan 1.500%
- 5 year loan 1.875%
- 7 year loan 2.125%
- 10 year loan 2.250%
- 12 year loan 2.375 %

To learn more about the FSA Farm Storage Facility Loan, visit www.fsa.usda.gov/pricesupport or contact your local FSA county office. To find your local FSA county office, visit http://offices.usda.gov.

NAP Producers have 72 Hours to Report Losses!!!!

The CCC-576, Notice of Loss, is used to report failed acreage and prevented planting and may be completed by any producer with an interest in the crop. Timely filing a Notice of Loss is required for all crops including grasses. For losses on crops covered by the Non-Insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP), you must file a CCC-576, Notice of Loss, in the FSA County Office within 15 days of the occurrence of the disaster or when losses become apparent or 15 calendar days after the normal harvest date.

Producers of hand-harvested crops must notify FSA of damage or loss through the administrative County Office within 72 hours of the date of damage or loss first becomes

apparent. This notification can be provided by filing a CCC-576, email, fax or phone. Producers who notify the County Office by any method other than by filing the CCC-576 are still required to file a CCC-576, Notice of Loss, within the required 15 calendar days.

If filing for prevented planting, an acreage report and CCC-576 must be filed within 15 calendar days of the final planting date for the crop.

Payments to Deceased Producers

In order to claim a Farm Service Agency (FSA) payment on behalf of a deceased producer, all program conditions for the payment must have been met before the applicable producer's date of death.

If a producer earned a FSA payment prior to becoming deceased, the following is the order of precedence of the representatives of the producer:

- administrator or executor of the estate
- the surviving spouse
- surviving sons and daughters, including adopted children
- · surviving father and mother
- surviving brothers and sisters
- heirs of the deceased person who would be entitled to payment according to the State law

In order for FSA to release the payment, the legal representative of the deceased producer must file a form FSA-325, to claim the payment for themselves or an estate. The county office will verify and determine that the application, contract, loan agreement, or other similar form requesting payment issuance, was signed by the applicable deadline for such form, by the deceased or a person legally authorized to act on their behalf at that time of application.

If the application, contract or loan agreement form was signed by someone other than the participant who is deceased, FSA will determine whether the person submitting the form has the legal authority to submit the form to compel FSA to pay the deceased participant.

Payments will be issued to the respective representative's name using the deceased program participant's tax identification number. Payments made to representatives are subject to offset regulations for debts owed by the deceased.

FSA is not responsible for advising persons in obtaining legal advice on how to obtain program benefits that may be due to a participant who has died, disappeared or who has been declared incompetent.

MAL and LDP Policy

The Agricultural Act of 2014 authorized 2014-2018 crop year Marketing Assistance Loans (MALs) and Loan Deficiency Payments (LDPs), with a few minor policy changes.

Among the changes, farm-stored MAL collateral transferred to warehouse storage will retain the original loan rate, be allowed to transfer only the outstanding farm-stored quantity with no additional quantity allowed and will no longer require producers to have a paid for measurement service when moving or commingling loan collateral.

MALs and LDPs provide financing and marketing assistance for wheat, feed grains, soybeans, and other oilseeds, pulse crops, rice, peanuts, cotton, wool and honey. MALs provide producers interim financing after harvest to help them meet cash flow needs without having to sell their commodities

when market prices are typically at harvest-time lows. A producer who is eligible to obtain a loan, but agrees to forgo the loan, may obtain an LDP if such a payment is available. Marketing loan provisions and LDPs are not available for sugar and extra-long staple cotton.

FSA is now accepting requests for 2017 MALs and LDPs for all eligible commodities after harvest. Requests for loans and LDPs shall be made on or before the final availability date for the respective commodities.

Before MAL repayments with a market loan gain or LDP disbursements can be made, producers must meet the requirements of actively engaged in farming, cash rent tenant and member contribution.

Commodity certificates are available to loan holders who have outstanding nonrecourse loans for wheat, upland cotton, rice, feed grains, pulse crops (dry peas, lentils, large and small chickpeas), peanuts, wool, soybeans and designated minor oilseeds. These certificates can be purchased at the posted county price (or adjusted world price or national posted price) for the quantity of commodity under loan, and must be immediately exchanged for the collateral, satisfying the loan. MALs redeemed with commodity certificates are not subject to the actively engaged in farming, cash-rent tenant, Adjusted Gross Income provisions or the payment limitation.

To be considered eligible for an LDP, producers must have form CCC-633EZ, Page 1 on file at their local FSA Office before losing beneficial interest in the crop. Pages 2, 3 or 4 of the form must be submitted when payment is requested.

The 2014 Farm Bill also establishes payment limitations per individual or entity not to exceed \$125,000 annually on certain commodities for the following program benefits: price loss coverage payments, agriculture risk coverage payments, marketing loan gains (MLGs) and LDPs. These payment limitations do not apply to MAL loan disbursements or redemptions using commodity certificate exchange.

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) provisions were modified by the 2014 Farm Bill, which states that a producer whose total applicable three-year average AGI exceeds \$900,000 is not eligible to receive an MLG or LDP. Producers must have a valid CCC-941 on file to earn a market gain of LDP. The AGI does not apply to MALs redeemed with commodity certificate exchange.

For more information and additional eligibility requirements, please visit a nearby USDA Service Center or FSA's website www.fsa.usda.gov.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).