
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
May 2012 
 
 
Payette County  
FSA Office 
 
 
 
County Executive  
Director 
Kimberly Royer 
501 N. 16th St. Ste 102 
Payette, Idaho 83661 
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208-642-4322 fax 
www.fsa.usda.gov/id 
 
Hours 
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DCP/ACRE Sign-Up Deadline  
Enrollment for the 2012 Direct and 

Counter-Cyclical Program (DCP) will continue 
through June 1, 2012. USDA urges producers 
to make use of the eDCP automated website to  
sign-up or call the Payette Service Center to 
schedule an appointment to complete the 2012 
DCP contract. 

 USDA computes DCP Program payments 
using base acres and payment yields 
established for each farm. Eligible producers 
receive direct payments at rates established by 
statute regardless of market prices.  For more 
information on this or other programs, contact 
the nearest FSA office.   

 

2010 SURE Sign-Up Deadline 
Sign-up for the Supplemental Revenue 

Assistance Payment (SURE) program for the 
2010 crop year began Nov. 14, 2011, and will 
end on June 1, 2012.  SURE provides benefits 
for farm revenue losses due to natural disasters. 
A farm is eligible when either:   

 
A portion of the farm is located in a county, or 
a contiguous county, covered by a qualifying 
Secretarial disaster declaration.  
 An overall loss greater than 50 percent of 

the actual production on the farm 
compared to expected production for the 
farm for that year.  

 For producers to be eligible for SURE, they 
must have obtained a policy or plan of 
insurance for all crops through either the 
Federal Crop Insurance Act or FSA’s 
Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program 
(NAP). Producers must suffer a 10 percent 
production loss due to a natural disaster to at 
least one crop of economic significance on 
their farm in order to be eligible for SURE  
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
County Committee 
Nominations 

The County Committee nomination period 
runs from June 15, 2012 through August 1, 
2012.  For detailed information contact your 
local FSA office.   

The election of agricultural producers to 
Farm Service Agency (FSA) county 
committees is important to ALL farmers and 
ranchers.  It is crucial that every eligible 
producer participate in these elections because 
FSA county committees are a link between the 
agricultural community and the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture (USDA).  

County committee members are a critical 
component of the operations of FSA. They help 
deliver FSA farm programs at the local level.  
Farmers and ranchers who serve on county 
committees help with the decisions necessary 
to administer the programs in their counties. 
They work to ensure FSA agricultural 
programs serve the needs of local producers.  

FSA county committees operate within 
official regulations designed to carry out 
federal laws. County committee members 
apply their judgment and knowledge to make 
local decisions.   

 
LAA’s Accepting Nominations 
LAA 3 is the current LAA up for election in 
Payette County. Gail Church is representing 
LAA 3 currently as Chairperson. Gail has 
served on the Payette County Committee for 3 
consecutive terms totaling 9 years. 
      LAA-3 lays south of the Farmers Irrigation 
Canal extending boundaries to the Canyon 
County Line.  The eastern section extends to 
the Gem County Line while the western 
portion borders the Oregon State Line. Contact 
the Payette FSA office if you are unsure of 
your LAA 208-642-4402.



 Crop Reporting Deadline 
The annual, timely and accurate reporting of 

acres for all crops and land uses, including 
failed acreage, can prevent loss of benefits for a 
variety of Farm Service Agency programs.  All 
cropland on the farm must be reported to 
receive benefits from the Direct and Counter-
Cyclical Program, marketing assistance loans 
and Load Deficiency Payments. 

Conservation Reserve Program acreage 
must be reported to receive annual rental 
payments. Crop acreage for Non-Insured Crop 
Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) also must 
be reported.  

Crop reports — form FSA-578, Report of 
Acreage — must account for all cropland on a 
farm, whether idle or planted. Producers need 
to file their acreage reports by June 30th. 
Prevented Planting: 

Prevented planting needs to be reported no 
later than 15 calendar days after the final 
planting date. 
Failed Acreage: 

Reports of failed acreage must be filed 
before disposition of the crop, and producers 
must be able to establish to the satisfaction of 
the county committee that the crop failed and 
was prevented from being replanted through 
the normal planting period because of natural 
disaster conditions. 

 

MILC Program 
FSA’s Milk Income Loss Contract Program 

(MILC) compensates dairy producers when 
domestic milk prices fall below a specified 
level. MILC payments are made when the 
Boston Class I milk price falls below $16.94 
per hundredweight (cwt) as adjusted by the 
dairy feed ration adjustment. The monthly 
Boston price is posted online at:  

http://www.fmmone.com/Northeast_Order_
Prices/NE_Prices_main_new.htm. 

Eligible producers should submit the current 
MILC (Milk Income Loss Contract) statements 
for payment. Eligibility for 2012 must be 
completed before payments can be disbursed.  
Please contact the office to check the status of 
your eligibility.  New producers are encouraged 
to apply for the program any time before Sept. 
30, 2012.   

 

 

NAP Records 
Production records for individual crops 

need to be filed at the FSA office to establish 
an approved NAP yield.  If this is the first year 
you participated in NAP, you can provide 
production and acreage information from prior 
years to establish your yield.  If you 
participated in NAP in previous years, you 
must report your production and acreage on a 
yearly basis to keep your yield up-to-date.  
Records submitted must be reliable or 
verifiable.  Records need to show crop 
disposition.  We recommend producers submit 
production records as soon as harvest is 
complete.  All production records must be 
submitted by the subsequent crop year’s 
final acreage reporting date. 

 

NAP Loss Filing 
The CCC-576, Notice of Loss, is used to 

report failed acreage and prevented planting 
and may be completed by any producer with an 
interest in the crop. Timely filing a Notice of 
Loss is required for all crops including 
grasses. For losses on crops covered by the 
Non-Insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program 
(NAP) and crop insurance, you must file a 
CCC-576, Notice of Loss, in the FSA County 
Office within 15 days of the occurrence of the 
disaster or when losses become apparent.  

If filing for prevented planting, an acreage 
report and CCC-576 must be filed within 15 
calendar days of the final planting date for the 
crop. 

 

Adjusted Gross Income 
USDA and the Internal Revenue Service 

have established an electronic information 
exchange process for verifying compliance 
with the adjusted gross income (AGI) 
provisions for farm programs.  Written consent 
is required from each producer or payment 
recipient for the tax review process.  No actual 
tax data will be included in the report that IRS 
sends to FSA.   

This ensures that payments are not issued to 
producers whose AGI exceeds certain limits.  
The limits set in the 2008 Farm Bill are 
$500,000 nonfarm average AGI for commodity 
and disaster programs; $750,000 farm average 
AGI for direct payments and; $1 million 
nonfarm average AGI for conservation 
programs.  
Continued on Page 3 Adjusted Gross Income 

 
 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
Continued from Page 2 Adjusted Gross Income 

Participants in CCC programs subject to 
average AGI rules must submit form CCC-931 
to their local FSA County Office to avoid 
interruption of program benefits.  This form 
may be obtained from local FSA and NRCS 
offices.   

 

 
Farm Reconstitutions 

At FSA, farms are “constituted” to group all 
tracts having the same owner and the same 
operator under one farm serial number.  When 
changes in ownership or operation take place, a 
farm reconstitution is necessary.  If an owner or 
operator cannot agree about program 
participation, like in the case of the new ACRE 
program, then producers should inquire about a 
reconstitution of the farm at the local FSA 
office. 

The reconstitution — or recon — is the 
process of combining or dividing farms or 
tracts of land based on the farming operation.  
Remember, to be effective for the current year, 
recons must be requested by Aug. 1, 2012, for 
farms enrolled in specific programs.   

 
 
 
 
 

GovDelivery – Free Reminders 
The USDA Farm Service Agency offices 

are moving into paperless operation to save 
your tax payer dollars. Producers can now 
enroll in the new GovDelivery system to 
receive instant electronic deadline reminders, 
bulletins and newsletters direct to your email 
address. Now you don’t have to wait for a 
printed newsletter only occasionally sent 
through the mail.  

Producers can subscribe to receive free e-
mail updates by visiting this free enrollment 
website: www.fsa.usda.gov/subscribe.  You can 
also call your local Farm Service Agency 
office. Give it a try right now. All you need is 
an email address for yourself or a family 
member where you can receive the useful email 
updates.  
 

 
 
Conservation Compliance  
(HEL & Wetland) 
 
Producers intending to remove fence rows, 
convert woodlots to cropland, install new 
drainage, or improve or modify existing 
drainage, must notify the FSA and update Form 
AD-1026.  FSA will notify NRCS and NRCS 
will make HEL and wetland technical 
determinations.  Farmers with HEL determined 
soils are reminded of tillage, crop residue and 
rotation requirements per their conservation 
plan.  Failure to obtain ADVANCE approval 
for any of these situations can result in the loss 
of eligibility and all federal payments.  

 

Measurement Service 
Farmers who would like a guarantee on 

their crop plantings and land use acreages can 
make it official by using the FSA measurement 
service. Producers must file a request with the 
county office staff and pay the cost of a field 
visit to have stake and referencing done on the 
farm.  Measurement service is available using 
digital imagery. If an on-site visit is not 
required producers are charged a reduced rate. 

Incorrect acreage self-certification can 
result in reduced program payments, penalty or 
loss of eligibility. 

Producers can request ortho-imagery and 
CLU covering their land (commonly referred to 
as a clip) at no charge. This would provide the 
acreage of an entire field.     
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LAST NEWSLETTER 

In order to receive future information concerning programs and deadlines please see the article on GovDelivery 

Selected Interest Rates for 

May 2012 

Farm Operating - Direct 1.5% 
Farm Ownership - Direct 3.5% 
Farm Ownership - Direct Down Payment, 
Beginning Farmer or Rancher 

1.5% 

Emergency  3.75% 
Farm Storage Facility – 7 year 1.5% 

Dates to Remember 

May 28 Memorial Day, Federal Offices Closed 
June 1 2012 DCP/ACRE Enrollment closes 
June 1 Farm Record Changes Deadline 
June 1 SURE Sign up ends 
June 15  COC Nomination Period Opens 
June 30 Last Day to Crop Report 
Aug. 1 Last Day to file COC nomination form 

 

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. 
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 Farm Loan Programs 
The Farm Service Agency is committed to providing family farmers with loans to meet their farm credit 

needs.  Those producers who are having trouble getting credit for their farm or who regularly borrow from FSA, 
direct and guaranteed loans are currently available.   

Ask a lender about an FSA loan guarantee to help with a setback or if a lender has been reluctant to extend or 
renew a loan. 

Farm ownership loans or farm operating loans may be obtained as direct loans for a maximum of up to 
$300,000. Guaranteed loans have a maximum limit of $1,214,000.  This makes the maximum combination of 
direct and guaranteed loan indebtedness $1,514,000.  

The one-time loan origination fee charged on FSA guaranteed farm ownership and operating loans has 
increased from 1 percent to 1.5 percent of the guaranteed portion of the loan, for loans obligated after Oct. 1, 
2011. 

To find out more about FSA loan programs, contact the county office staff.   


