
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kenneth Stockman 
 

Congratulations to Kenneth Stockman 
who was elected to the Phillips County 
Committee during the election held last 
December.  Kenneth will represent the 
western third of the county for the next 
three years.  The Phillips County 
Committee meets the second Tuesday 
of the month at 9:00 a.m. 
 

NAP Sales Closing Date 
Approaches 

 
March 15, 2011 is the final date to 
purchase a NAP policy on forage 
sorghum and dual purpose forage 
sorghum.  With the SURE program 
being authorized by the current farm bill, 
producers will want to take another look 
at insuring their feed crops.  If your feed 
crop is worth 5% or more of your 
expected revenue of your farm, the crop 
must be insured under a NAP policy in 
order for you to be eligible for the SURE 
program.  While there is snow currently 
on the ground, I do not believe it will 
replace the topsoil and subsoil moisture 
lost over the last several months of 
below normal precipitation.  A change 
this year is that feed acres intended to 
be chopped for silage is no longer 
covered under NAP.  Insurance on these 
silage acres must be purchased up town 
through your RMA insurance provider. 
Report all forage crop production losses 
within 15 days of the occurrence. 
Producers must keep records giving the 
date of harvest and number of bales and 
a representative number of scale tickets 
for each type of forage. Maintain all 
records for the current year and the 
immediate three past years for spot 
check purposes.  NAP coverage is 
required for SAFE, LFP, and ELAP 
benefits.  
 

Farm Stored Facility Loans 
 

Under the Farm Stored Facility Loan 
program we issue low interest loans to 
participants to erect new farm storage.  
The program requires at least a 15% 
down payment, and loans over $50,000 
must be secured by real estate.  The 
current interest rate is 2.875% on a 7 
year fixed note.  Larger loans may be 
stretched out for 10 or 12 year 
repayments, but the interest rate does 
increase to 3.500% and 3.875% 
respectively.  Producers wishing to apply 
for a Facility loan will need to provide 
current financial information in the form 
of cash flows and balance sheets, an 
estimate for the cost of the bins to be 
erected and a $100 application fee.  We 
can also loan on hay storage, silage pits, 
and cold storage for vegetables under 
this program. 

General CRP Signup #41 
 

General CRP Signup #41 begins March 
14, 2011 and runs through April 15, 
2011.  An informational newsletter was 
recently sent to all Kansas producers on 
FSA record from the Kansas State FSA 
Office.  Please review that newsletter for 
more detailed information.  A portion in 
the southern part of Phillips County is 
again in a priority area, which will 
increase the chances of those offers 
being accepted.  This signup will be for 
new acreage, expired acreage or 
acreage expiring from CRP this fall.  
Producers interested in offering acreage 
will need to contact the FSA office and 
complete necessary forms.  
 

Report Your Wheat Acres 
 

May 31, 2011 is the final date to timely 
report planted acres of wheat, barley, 
triticale and oats.  Acreage reporting is 
required by the DCP and ACRE 
programs.  It is also a requirement of 
commodity loans and LDPs.  CRP 
eligibility also requires annual acreage 
reports, along with the NAP program.  
We will be taking native grass pasture 
and forage acres at this time also.  It is 
a requirement for the SURE program 
that all acreages for harvest or grazing 
must be reported to be eligible. 
 

2011 DCP and ACRE Signup 
 

Signup for the 2011 DCP and ACRE 
programs is currently underway.  
Producers who have enrolled may 
receive 22% of the annual payment in 
advance of the October final payments.  
The producer may elect to receive these 
advance payments in any month from 
the time all signatures are obtained and 
the end of the fiscal year.  The farm 
program contract (CCC-509) requires all 
owners and operators to sign the form.  
The final date to return signatures is 
June 1, 2011. 
 

2009 SURE Signup 
 

Signup for the 2009 SURE program is 
currently underway and will continue 
through July 29, 2011.  Under this 
program producers are reimbursed for 
losses incurred during the 2009 crop 
year.  Phillips County is contiguous to a 
secretarial designated county, so 
producers must only have a 10% loss 
on a crop of economic significance in 
order to be eligible for payments.  A 
requirement of the SURE program is 
that all crops of economic significance 
are covered by insurance or NAP. 
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The U.S. Department of Agriculture 
(USDA) prohibits discrimination in 
all of its programs and activities on 
the basis of race, color, national 
origin, age, disability, and where 
applicable, sex, marital status, 
familial status, parental status, 
religion, sexual orientation, political 
beliefs, genetic information, 
reprisal, or because all or part of 
an individual’s income is derived 
from any public assistance 
program. (Not all prohibited bases 
apply to all programs.) Persons 
with disabilities who require 
alternative means for 
communication of program 
information (Braille, large print, 
audiotape, etc.) should contact 
USDA’s TARGET Center at 
(202) 720-2600 (voice and TDD). 
To file a complaint of 
discrimination, write to USDA, 
Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 
Office of the Assistant Secretary 
for Civil Rights, 1400 
Independence Avenue, S.W., Stop 
9410, Washington, DC 20250-
9410, or call toll-free at (866) 632-
9992 (English) or (800) 877-8339 
(TDD) or (866) 377-8642 (English 
Federal-relay) or (800) 845-6136 
(Spanish Federal-relay). USDA is 
an equal opportunity provider and 
employer. 
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SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS 
 

Reasonable accommodations will be made, upon request, 
for individuals with disabilities, vision impairment, or 
hearing impairment to attend or participate in meetings or 
events sponsored by the Farm Service Agency. If you 
require special accommodations to attend or participate in 
one of our events, please call the FSA county office at 785-
543-2732, and we will be happy to make any needed 
arrangements.  
 

FOREIGN LAND OWNERSHIP 
REQUIREMENT 

 
The Agricultural Foreign Investment Act, (AFIDA), 
requires foreign persons, including corporations, 
partnerships, trusts, estates, associations or like entities 
who acquire, transfer or hold interests in Ag land, to 
report these holdings and changes to the Secretary of 
Agriculture.  Reports must be submitted within 90 days of 
the date the land is bought, sold or transferred.  Forms for 
reporting are available at any FSA office.  Failure to timely 
file an accurate report may result in a penalty of up to 
25% of the fair market value of the agricultural land. 
 

REPORT FARM RECORD CHANGES 
 
If you have bought, sold, or are renting different land 
(including pasture), make sure you report the 
changes to the FSA within 30 days of the record 
change. Do not wait until DCP signup. Failure to 
report record changes within 30 days may cause the 
loss of all FSA benefits. For farm ownership 
changes you will need to provide a recorded deed or 
signed contract for sale and the sales agreement. 
Ensure the sales agreement addresses all CRP and 
other FSA payment disposition.  Name changes 
such as forming corporations, LLC’s, partnerships, 
etc also need to be reported. 
 
SODBUSTING PURCHASED LAND, NEWLY RENTED 

ACREAGE AND EXPIRED CRP  
 

Prior to sodbusting any acreage including expired 
Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) acres and before 
planting a crop on newly purchased or rented acreage, 
check the Conservation Plan of Operation (CPO). 
Planting a crop on sodbusted acreage or on newly 
acquired land that does not have a fully implemented 
CPO will cause the loss of all USDA benefits on all 
acreage owned and operated. Form AD-1026 must be 
approved by the Natural Resources Conservation Service 
(NRCS) prior to breaking any acreage or planting a crop 
on acreage that does not have a completed CPO.   

Adjusted Gross Income 
 

The IRS and FSA joined forces last year to ensure 
program payments are not being issued to producers who 
exceed the Adjusted Gross Income provisions of the farm 
bill.  All producers that earn USDA benefits must 
complete a CCC-926, Average Adjusted Gross Income 
(AGI) Statement and return this form to the County Office.  
Producers must also complete either a CCC-927, 
Consent to Disclosure of Tax Information – Individual, or 
CCC-928, consent to Disclosure of Tax Information – 
Legal Entity, and return these forms to the Internal 
Revenue Service at the address on the form.  Individuals 
who earn payments indirectly through a participating 
entity must also file individual reports with the IRS.  
Failure to do so will require repayment of past benefits 
received. 
 

CONTINUOUS CRP PRACTICES 
 

The following CRP practices may be offered at any time 
under the continuous signup.  Under the continuous CRP 
producers earn annual rental payments based upon the 
soil types of the soils being offered, earn cost share equal 
to 90% of last year’s average cost when all incentives are 
applied, and also earn a signup incentive of a one-time 
payment equal to $100 per acre for each acre enrolled. 
 
SAFE Acres, CP38E 
Producers with small environmentally sensitive or 
erodible, or less productive spots in larger fields may want 
to check on the CRP SAFE practice.  The SAFE practice 
stands for state acres for wildlife enhancement.  Five 
acres or 20% of a field, whichever is larger, may be 
enrolled in the SAFE.  These acres are planted to grass 
and their main focus is to provide nesting habitat for 
upland birds.  Irrigated pivot corners may be enrolled in 
their entirety. 
Quail Buffers, CP33 
These acres are planted to grass and their main focus is 
also to provide nesting habitat for upland birds.  This 
practice is limited to buffer strips on the outside edge of 
farmed fields. 
Other practices available include CRP waterways, 
windbreaks, filter strips, riparian buffers, and others. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Phillips County FSA Office 
1717 Hwy 183 
Phillipsburg, KS  67661-2549 

Dates to Remember 

3/14/2011 General CRP Signup #41 starts 

3/15/2011 Last day to buy NAP on Forage Sorghum 
Feed 

4/15/2011 Final Day of General CRP Signup #41 
5/31/2011 Final Wheat, Barley, and Oats reporting date 
6/1/2011 Final date to sign into DCP or ACRE 
7/29/2011 Final date of 2009 SURE signup 
8/1/2011 Final feed grain reporting date 

 


