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    FSA COC Nomination Deadline 
 
County committees play a crucial role in helping 
county office staff implement the 2008 Farm Bill.  
Due to the importance of county committee mem-
bers and their roles, producers are encouraged to 
participate in the 2008 FSA county committee elec-
tion process by nominating an eligible candidate by 
the August 1 deadline. 
 
To become a nominee, eligible individuals must 
sign form FSA-669A. The Nomination Form for 
County FSA Committee Election (FSA-669A) is 
available at the Christian/Stone/Taney County FSA 
office. You may also go online and download the 
form from our Missouri FSA website at: 
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/FSA/mo.  The document is 
located under the "I Want To" section on the right 
side of the screen. 
 
Nomination forms for the 2008 election must be 
postmarked or received in the local USDA Service 
Center by close of business on August 1, 2008.  
 
FSA county committee members make decisions on 
disaster and conservation programs, emergency 
programs, commodity price support loan programs 
and other important agricultural issues. Members 
serve three-year terms. Committees consist of three 
to five members who are elected by eligible local 
producers. 
 
FSA will mail ballots to producers beginning Nov. 
3. The voted ballots are due back at the local county 
office either via mail or in person by December 1, 
2008.  Newly elected committee members and al-
ternates take office January 1, 2009. 
 
For more information regarding the County Com-
mittee Elections, talk to the Christian/Stone/Taney 
County Committee, Mark Hultgren, County Execu-
tive Director at (417)581-2718 ext. 2 or stop in the 
office located at 1786 S. 16th Ave., Ozark, MO for 
details on the types of decisions county committee 
members make.  Or visit the County Committee 
Elections website to learn more about the County 
Committee Election process and read over the fact 
sheets at: 
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/FSA/webapp?area=newsro
om&subject=landing&topic=cce.  
 
 

FSA Farm Loans 
 
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 
modified the Farm Service Agency's (FSA) Farm 
Loan programs.  For Direct Farm Operating and 
Farm Ownership loans, the maximum loan amount 
has been increased to $300,000. 
 
The FSA Farm Ownership Down Payment Loan 
program allows eligible family farmers to purchase 
farms with a 5% down payment, while financing up 
to 45% of the purchase price with a low interest di-
rect loan from FSA.  The remainder of the purchase 
price would be financed by another lender, who 
could qualify for a loan guarantee from FSA.  So-
cially Disadvantaged Applicants (SDA) are one of a 
group whose members have been subjected to ra-
cial, ethnic or gender prejudice because of their 
identity as a member of the group without regard to 
their individual qualities. SDA groups include; 
Women, African Americans, American Indians, 
Alaskan Natives, Hispanics, Asian Americans and 
Pacific Islanders. 
 
The Farm Ownership Down Payment Loan pro-
gram was modified in several ways: 
 Expanded to include Socially Disadvantaged 

Applicants;  
 Interest rate reduced to the Direct Farm Owner-

ship rate less 4% or 1.5% whichever is greater; 
 Maximum loan amount changed from $100,000

to an amount not exceeding 45% of the least of:
(a). the purchase price of the farm; (b). the 
appraised value of the farm; or (c). 
$500,000.   
Note: This would result in a maximum 
FSA loan amount of $225,000 and no limi-
tation on the purchase price of the farm. 

 Loan term is extended from 15 years to 20 
years; and 

 Required down payment is reduced from 10% 
to 5%. 

 
To find out more about the FSA Farm Ownership 
Down Payment Loan program, contact your local 
FSA county office to setup an appointment with a 
loan approval official. 
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2008 Crop Year Loans and LDP’s 
 
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 author-
izes marketing assistance loans (MAL’s) and Loan Defi-
ciency Payments (LDP’s) for crop years 2008 through 
2012.   General provision in effect for the 2007 crop year 
will remain in effect for the 2008 crop year.   
 
2008 DCP Program Sign-up Is  
Underway 
 
Producers have until September 30, 2008 to sign-up for 
the 2008 Direct and Counter-cyclical Payment Program 
(DCP). Producers can fill out their 2008 DCP contract at 
any USDA Farm Service Agency County Office.  Sign-up 
can also be completed online by going to 
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/FSA/edcp and clicking on "Ac-
cess eDCP Service."   You can choose payment options, 
assign crop shares and sign and submit contracts from any 
computer with Internet access.  You can also view and 
print submitted contract options. 
 
FSA computes DCP payments using base acres and pay-
ment yields established for each farm.  Eligible producers 
receive direct payments at rates established by statute re-
gardless of market prices.  For 2008, eligible producers 
may request to receive an advance payment of 22 percent 
of the direct payment for each commodity associated with 
the farm.  FSA will issue advance direct payments as soon 
as practical after enrollment.  Final direct payments will 
be issued after Oct. 1, 2008.  Counter-cyclical payments 
vary depending on market prices, and are issued only 
when the effective price for a commodity is below its tar-
get price (which takes into account the direct payment 
rate, market price and loan rate).   
 
For all eligibility requirements or addition information, 
contact your local office. 
 
 

Selected Interest Rates for 
July 2008 

90-Day Treasury Bill 1.625% 
Farm Operating Loans -- Direct 3.625% 
Farm Ownership Loans -- Direct 5.000% 
Farm Ownership Loans -- Down 
Payment 1.500% 

Emergency Loans 3.750% 
Farm Storage Facility Loans 3.625% 
Sugar Storage Facility Loans 4.625% 
Commodity Loans 1996-Present 3.375% 
 
 
 
 

New Crop Certification Deadline 
 
For 2008, the final crop reporting dates will be ex-
tended to August 15, 2008.  Late fees will not be ap-
plied if acreage reports are filed by August 15 and all 
other reporting requirements are met. 
 
Filing an accurate and timely report for all crops and 
land uses, including prevented planted and failed acre-
age, can prevent loss of benefits for a variety of Farm 
Service Agency programs. All cropland on the farm 
must be reported to receive benefits from the Direct and 
Counter-cyclical Program, marketing assistance loans 
and Loan Deficiency Payments. 
Report of acreage must account for all cropland on a 
farm, whether idle or planted. 
 
CRP & NAP Certification 
Conservation Reserve Program acreage must be re-
ported to receive annual rental payments. And, crop 
acreage for Non-insured Crop Disaster Assistance Pro-
gram (NAP) must also be reported.  
 
Farm Reconstitutions 
 
In Farm Service Agency terms, farms are constituted to 
group all tracts having the same owner and the same 
operator under one farm serial number.  When changes 
in ownership or operation take place, a farm reconstitu-
tion is necessary. 
 
The reconstitution -- or recon -- is the process of com-
bining or dividing farms or tracts of land based on the 
farming operation.  To be effective for the current year, 
recons must be requested by August 1 for farms en-
rolled in the Direct and Counter-cyclical Payment Pro-
gram.   The 2008 Act provides that a producer on a farm 
may not receive direct payments, counter-cyclical pay-
ments, or average crop revenue election payments if the 
sum of the base acres of the farm is 10.0 acres or less, 
except if the farm is wholly owned by either of the fol-
lowing: 

 A socially disadvantaged farmer or rancher;  
 A limited resource farmer or rancher. 

 
BUY-IN WAIVER FOR 
SUPPLEMENTAL AGRICULTURAL 
DISASTER ASSISTANCE 
 
The 2008 Farm Bill requires producers who wish to par-
ticipate in the new disaster programs to have crop insur-
ance or non-insured crop disaster assistance (NAP) 
coverage for the land for which assistance is being re-
quested, and for all farms in all counties in which they 
have an interest. Since the 2008 Act was enacted after 
the sales closing date for those programs, producers 
who did not purchase coverage could not comply with 
this requirement.  However, the 2008 Act authorizes a 
waiver that allows producers to pay a fee, called a "buy-
in" fee, to be eligible for this new disaster assistance.  
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The buy-in fee for 2008 eligibility only (for either the catas-
trophic risk protection insurance (CAT) or NAP) is $100 per 
crop, but not more than $300 per producer per administrative 
county, or $900 total per producer for all counties less any 
previously paid fees for CAT and/or NAP. Producers can 
contact their local administrative FSA County Office to file 
the application for waiver and pay the applicable fees.  
 
Producers who meet the definition of "Socially Disadvan-
taged, Limited Resource," or "Beginning Farmer or 
Rancher," do not have to meet the Risk Management Pur-
chase Requirement, and, therefore, are not required to pay 
the buy-in fee. 
 
Contact the local FSA office for additional information. 
 
CRP Payment Rates to be Updated 
 
The Farm Service Agency (FSA) county offices are currently 
reviewing soil rental rates and local farmland cash rent rates to 
determine the maximum payment rate for CRP annual pay-
ments.  This is to guarantee the CRP rental rates are set at 
market levels to ensure program operations do not distort local 
rental markets, program costs are minimized, and program 
benefits are achieved.   
 
As a result a large majority of State Rental Rates may be ad-
justed as a result of this review process.  Producers should 
consider these soil rental rate changes before agreeing to 
terms of new contracts.  Soil rental rates are expected to be 
updated sometime in August or September. 

Foreign Landowner Notification 
The Agricultural Foreign Investment Disclosure Act (AFIDA) 
requires all foreign owners of U.S. agricultural land to report 
their holdings to the Secretary of Agriculture. The Farm Ser-
vice Agency administers this program for USDA. 
 
Foreign persons who have purchased or sold agricultural land 
in the county are required to report the transaction to FSA 
with 90 days of the closing. Failure to submit the AFIDA 
form could result in civil penalties of up to 25 percent of the 
fair market value of the property.  

Sodbuster Regulations 
The term “sodbusting” is used to identify the plowing up of 
erosion-prone grasslands for use as cropland. Sodbuster viola-
tions are unauthorized tillage practices on highly erodible 
lands that converted native vegetation such as rangeland or 
woodland, to crop production after Dec. 23, 1985. 
Farmers and ranchers should be aware that if they use highly 
erodible land for crop production without proper conservation 
measures, they risk losing eligibility to participate in Farm 

Service Agency programs. 
 
Before producers clear, plow or otherwise prepare ar-
eas not presently under crop production for planting, 
they are required to file an AD-1026, indicating the 
area to be brought into production. 
 
If Natural Resources Conservation Service indicates 
an area will be highly erodible land, the producer will 
be required to develop and implement a conservation 
plan on the affected acreage, before bringing land into 
production. 
 
In addition, producers and the producer’s affiliates 
have to file an AD-1026 with the staff in the adminis-
trative or control county office before any farm pro-
gram payments can be made. The AD-1026 is the 
producer’s signed certification that HELC, as well as 
wetland conservation, provisions will not be violated.
 
NRCS Announces EQIP Sign-Up 
Opportunity 
 
Missouri Landowners can apply July 21 to September 
19, 2008 for natural resources conservation assistance 
through the Environmental Quality Incentives Pro-
gram (EQIP), the Natural Resources Conservation 
Service (NRCS) announced. 
 
EQIP promotes agricultural production and environ-
mental quality. Through EQIP, farmers and ranchers 
receive financial and technical assistance to help in-
stall structural conservation practices and to imple-
ment management systems that promote conservation. 
State Conservationist Roger Hansen says that begin-
ning with this sign up, limited-resource farmers, be-
ginning farmers and socially disadvantaged farmers 
are eligible for increased rates of financial assistance. 
Also new, Hansen says, is that financial assistance is 
available for new practices that improve air quality or 
conserve energy. 
 
Hansen says some tasks associated with this sign up, 
such as scoring and ranking, cannot be completed un-
til there is a final EQIP rule. The rule will provide 
new guidance for the EQIP program and will incorpo-
rate the 2008 Farm Bill changes. However, NRCS can 
accept applications, screen them and develop conser-
vation plans while the new rules are pending.   
 
To apply for EQIP or to get more information about 
EQIP and other NRCS programs, contact the NRCS 
office at (417)581-2718, ext. 3.  You can also get in-
formation about NRCS programs online at 
http://www.mo.nrcs.usda.gov/programs. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 4 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    Dates to Remember 

July 4 Independence Day Holiday.  FSA 
Offices Closed. 

July 18 Deadline to sign-up for LCP and 
LIP. 

Aug. 1 Last day to file County Commit-
tee Nomination forms. 

Aug. 1 Final date to request farm   recon-
stitution for current    fiscal year. 

Aug. 15 
Final certification date for all 
crops.  Late fees will be assessed 
after Aug. 15. 

Sept. 1 Labor Day Holiday. FSA  
Offices Closed. 

Sept. 16 Final date for the SURE, EALHF, 
LFP or TAP programs. 

Sept. 30 Continue all CRP operations.  

Sept. 30 
Deadline to sign-up ends for 2008 
Direct and Counter-cyclical Pay-
ment Program. 

Continues Farm Storage Facility Loan pro-
gram. 

Continues
Continuous Conservation Reserve 
Program through September 30th, 
under previous authorities.   

 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, 
disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, re-
prisal, or because all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public assistance program. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) 
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication of program information (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact 
USDA’s TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and TDD). To file a complaint of discrimination, write to USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 
Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity 
provider and employer. 

 
 
 

 

Signing for Entities 
To sign FSA forms for trusts, limited liability companies, cooperatives, 
partnerships or corporations, producers need a document on file at the 
county office saying you’re authorized to sign for the entity.  It could be a 
copy of the articles of partnership or articles of corporation or a valid 
power of attorney.  
 
You also have to know how you’re supposed to sign. In almost all in-
stances, when you are signing for an entity, your signature has to include 
“by” or “for,” indicating you’re signing in a representative capacity. 
Remember, if you’ve established an entity for your operation, you can no 
longer sign forms and contracts as yourself.  When you have signing au-
thority for an entity, you have to sign forms on behalf of the entity. 
 
If you have questions about the proper way to sign forms and contracts for 
your entity, contact the county office staff.  We can review the records and 
help determine the acceptable signature for your situation. 
 

Visit our website at: www.fsa.usda.gov/mo 


