June 2007

El Paso- Park- Teller FSA County Office

FARM SERVICE AGENCY

Colorado Springs Service Center 1826 E. Platte Ave. Suite 102 Colorado Springs, CO 80909 Telephone: (719) 632-9598 Ext.2

Hours

Monday-Friday, except Holidays 8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.

County Committee Members

El Paso, Park, & Teller Counties John Welty Chairperson Howard Stone Vice-Chairman 1st Alternate Albert Snare Regular Member George Evanoika 1st Alternate Raymond Tukua Regular Member Randy Myers Regular Member Delene DeGroot 1st Alternate Dixie Bover

Staff

Susan K. Ibsen....County Executive Director Johanna Reed.......Program Technician Cheryl Bridge.....Farm Loan Officer (3rd Tuesday of the Month)

Regular Meeting Schedule

3rd Wednesday of the Month

Internet Connections

Farm Service Agency www.fsa.usda.gov

Natural Resources Conservation Service www.nrcs.usda.gov

USDA On-line Services www.sc.egov.usda.gov/index.html





Make a Difference – Nominate & Vote County Committee Election

From June 15 through Aug. 1, farmers and ranchers can nominate eligible peers as candidates for election to the El Paso-Park-Teller County Farm Service Agency County Committee (COC). Terms expiring are in Local Administrative Areas (LAA) 1, Randy Myers; (LAA) 2, Howard Stone; and (LAA) 5, Delene DeGroot.

The COC nomination period is an important time for the community because county committee members make federal farm program delivery decisions that significantly affect producers and the area's agricultural sector as a whole.

For example, committee members make decisions on applications for disaster assistance. Committee members play a vital role in helping local farmers and ranchers weather tough financial times and natural disasters.

To hold office as a county committee member, a person must meet basic eligibility requirements. Contact the county office staff or visit http://www.fsa.usda.gov for details about candidate eligibility. Nomination forms can be obtained at the county office or online at the above address.

Voting for COC nominees takes place in the fall. Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters by Nov. 2nd. Dec. 3rd is the last day to return voted ballots to the county office. Newly elected committee members and alternates take office January 1, 2008.

OTHER IMPORTANT DEADLINES:

- July 16th Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance (NAP) crop production records for 2006 must be reported & documented on form CCC-452, Actual Production History
- July 16th 2007 Acreage Reporting of hay, graze, crop, & CRP and documented on form FSA-578, Acreage Report
- August 1st Request for Farm Reconstitutions for 2007
- August 3rd Direct & Counter-Cyclical Program (DCP) Signup
- **September 1**st NAP policy for Rye, Triticale, & value loss crop