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_______________________________________
Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program

The New Hampshire USDA Farm Service Agency is now accepting applications under the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program.  SURE provides benefits for 2008 through 2011 crop year farm revenue losses due to natural disasters. It is the 2008 Farm Bill's successor to prior ad hoc crop disaster programs. 
 

Eligibility

A "farm" is eligible for SURE when either:

· a portion of the farm is located in a county covered by a qualifying natural disaster declaration (USDA Secretarial Declarations only) or a contiguous county; or,

· the actual production is less than 50% of the normal production.

For producers to be eligible for SURE, they must have obtained a policy or plan of insurance for all crops through either the Federal Crop Insurance Act or FSA's Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP). There are limited exceptions to this rule.  SURE does not require coverage for forage crops intended for grazing.


Eligible farmers and ranchers who meet the definition of "Socially Disadvantaged", "Limited Resource", or "Beginning Farmer or Rancher" do not have to meet this requirement.


Producers must meet Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) requirements and have suffered a 10 percent production loss to at least one crop of economic significance on their farm in order to be eligible for SURE. For a loss to be a qualifying loss, it must be caused by a natural disaster. A crop of economic significance is one that contributes at least 5 percent of the expected revenue for a producer's farm.

Payments

FSA will issue SURE payments once all eligibility forms are approved (CCC-502, AD-1026), SURE program determinations are made, and National Average Market Prices have been obtained.  SURE payments are calculated based on 60% of the difference between the SURE Disaster Program Guarantee and the Total Farm Revenue. 

Payment Limitations
A limit of $100,000 applies to the combination of payments from SURE and the livestock disaster programs.  For 2008 SURE payments, payments are limited per "person" according to payment limitation rules in effect for 2008.

Signup Period
 

Signup for the 2008 SURE began January 4th, 2010.  A signup deadline has not been announced.  Producers must signup at their county FSA office.  If a producer farms in multiple counties, visits to each county may be necessary to complete the application. 

For More Information

If you have questions or for more information about this or any other FSA programs, please call or visit your local Farm Service Agency Office or USDA Service Center, or visit FSA on the World Wide Web at http://www.fsa.usda.gov.  Click on the State Office link to access the county office locator.
#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272(voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).

























