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Notice PM-2233
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Farm Service Agency
Washington, DC 20250

For:  State and County Offices and Kansas City Offices

Office of Workers’ Compensation Leave Buy Back (LBB) and Wage Loss Procedures
Approved by: Deputy Administrator, Management

1 Overview

A
Background Surveys of employees who have applied for benefits under OWCP's indicated that

the LBB process was cumbersome and time consuming.  Subsequently, new LBB
procedures have been developed.

B
Purpose This notice:

& advises State and County Offices of changes in OWCP’s LBB and wage loss
procedures

& provides instructions for completing and processing applicable forms.

C
Labor Relations
Obligations

Where exclusive representation exists, bargaining may be requested to the extent
allowed by applicable statutes.  Where contract language already addresses these
policies and procedures for bargaining unit employees, contract language prevails.

Continued on the next page
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1 Overview (Continued)

D
Contact Use the following table to determine the appropriate contact.

IF located in... THEN contact...

an FSA State Office Maria T. Ruiz, HRD, Performance Management,
Benefits, and Awards Branch at 202-418-9034 or
e-mail to Maria_Ruiz@wdc.fsa.usda.gov.

an FSA County Office State Office.

KCAO, KCCO, KCFO, Sue Collins or Mary Harvey, KCAO, Personnel
KC-ITSDO, KC-ITSTO, Division at 816-926-6643.
RMA-KC

2 LBB Policies

A
What is LBB An employee who needs to be absent from work because of an on-the-job injury or

illness beyond the allowable Continuation of Pay (COP) period must use annual
leave, sick leave, or leave without pay (LWOP).  LBB is the process of buying
back periods of sick and/or annual leave used to cover an injury-related absence
from work.  LBB process should be initiated within 2 years from ending date of
leave usage.

If an OWCP claim is approved, an employee using sick or annual leave may elect
to receive compensation.  Compensation is paid at 2/3 of the employee's base pay
if there are no eligible dependents, or 3/4 of base pay with 1 or more dependents. 
The Agency pays leave at 100 percent of salary.

For leave to be reinstated, the employee must refund to the Agency the difference
between the leave paid by the Agency and the amount of compensation that would
have been paid by OWCP.

When an employee elects to receive compensation through the Department of
Labor (DOL) instead of using sick leave or annual leave, the employee’s pay status
must be changed to LWOP.  An employee may elect to use leave and repay the
Agency for the leave.  If an employee is on LWOP, then nothing is repaid to the
Agency.

Continued on the next page
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2 LBB Policies (Continued)

B
LBB and Taxes When an LBB payment is made during the same year that the leave is used, the

employee’s earnings are reduced by the amount repaid, and tax is not paid for the
compensation received.  When leave repurchase is not completed during the same
year in which leave is used, the employee may not adjust the prior year's tax form. 
The employee may only claim the amount of leave paid as an employee expense, if
the employee itemizes deductions.  Address questions about LBB tax implications
to IRS.

C
LBB and COP An employee may not repurchase leave used during a period when the employee

was eligible for COP.

D
LBB and
Disability Less
Than 14
Calendar Days

When disability does not exceed 14 calendar days beyond the COP period,
3 calendar days of LWOP must be charged before compensation can be paid.  If
leave was used for this period, compensation cannot be paid for the 3 calendar
days, but the employee will have to repay the amount paid during the 3 calendar
days to be able to repurchase the leave.

E
When Disability
Exceeds 14
Calendar Days
Beyond COP 

If disability exceeds 14 calendar days beyond the COP period, the 3 calendar days
of LWOP are reinstated and counted towards the LBB period.

3 LBB Procedures

A
Required Forms Complete the following forms for LBB:

& CA-7
& CA-7a
& CA7b, Parts I through III
& CA-20.

Continued on the next page
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3 LBB Procedures (Continued)

B
Processing LBB Follow the instructions in this table to process LBB.

Step Action

1 Administrative Officer (AO) provides employee with CA-7, CA-7a, and CA-20.  If there is an
existing CA-20 on file covering the same periods of disability that the employee wants to
repurchase on CA-7 and CA-7a, then a copy of the existing CA-20 is sufficient.  Otherwise, the
employee is required to complete a new CA-20.

2 Employee and supervisor shall complete CA-7 (Exhibit 1).  The employee shall complete
CA-7a (Exhibit 2) and return to AO to verify.

AO shall:

& review CA-7 and CA-7a for accuracy

& verify number of hours claimed and dates of disability agree with medical documentation on
file.  

CA-20, CA-7, CA-7a, payroll T&A’s, Work Schedule Log, leave slips, and physician’s
certificate of absenteeism dates must all agree.  Employee and AO must also agree on leave
repurchase amounts.

3 AO shall complete CA-7b, Part I.  Use the formula at the bottom of the page to complete
Section B.

On CA-7b, Part II, insert the State Office address in "Employing Agency Address for Check"
section.  OWCP will send their check to this address, AO shall complete before transmitting to
National Finance Center (NFC) for their estimate.

Transmit completed CA-7a and CA-7b to NFC by FAX to Unit 2 at 504-255-4682.

See Exhibit 3 for an example of CA-7b.

CA-7b, Part II, lines H, I, and J, are completed by NFC.  After NFC completes this part,
CA-7b will be FAXed back to the agency (AO) within 5 workdays.

Note: To expedite the process, include the State Office FAX number on the transmission to
NFC so that NFC can transmit the completed CA-7b back by FAX.

Continued on the next page
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3 LBB Procedures (Continued)

B
Processing LBB
Forms
(Continued)

Step Action

4 After the estimate is received from NFC, send the package to the employee to complete
Part III.

5 If the employee elects not to repurchase the leave, file all documents in the employee's
Official Personnel Folder.  Do not send any documents to DOL.

6 If the employee elects to repurchase the leave, prepare the package to be sent to DOL,
OWCP.

7 The completed package for DOL should include the following:

& CA-7

& CA-7a

& CA7b

& CA-20

& a cover letter informing the claims examiner that the employee has decided to repurchase
the leave.

8 If medical evidence supports all hours claimed, then OWCP keys payment in full and issues
approval of LBB letter (CA-1208).  DOL will send the check to the Agency address on
CA-7b, Part II.

Continued on the next page
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3 LBB Procedures (Continued)

B
Processing LBB
Forms
(Continued)

Step Action

9 When the State Office receives the check from DOL, contact the employee and request the
employee's portion of the payment.  Both checks must be sent to NFC with AD-343.

10 The final package sent to NFC must include the following:

& completed AD-343
& LBB approval letter from OWCP (CA-1028)
& a copy of CA-7a
& a copy of CA-7b
& the employee's check
& DOL’s check.

FEDEX the package to the following address:

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Collection Section (ABCO)
13800 Old Gentilly Road
New Orleans, LA 70129
Attention: Ms. Darlene McGill
telephone: 504-255-4235.

11 Once NFC approves LBB, they will send a "Restoration of Leave Buy Back" letter.  State
Office or AO shall follow the instructions in the letter.
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4 Wage Loss Procedures

A
Required Forms Following are the forms needed to process wage loss:

& CA-7
& CA-7b
& CA-20.

B
Procesing Forms
for Wage Loss

Follow the procedure in this table to process forms for wage loss.

Step Action

1 AO provides employee with CA-7, CA-7a, and CA-20.  If an existing  CA-20 is on file and
covers the same periods of disability that the employee is requesting as “Wage Loss” on CA-7
and CA-7a, then a copy of the existing CA-20 is sufficient.  Otherwise, the employee is
required to complete a new CA-20.  The medical evidence on CA-20 must support the periods
of wage loss claimed on CA-7 and CA-7a.

2 The employee shall complete, sign, and date CA-7a, then return to AO to verify.

3 AO shall:

& review CA-7 and CA-7a for accuracy

& verify if hours claimed and dates agree with medical evidence on CA-20 and with payroll
T&A’s.

4 AO shall send the completed package, including all of the following, to DOL:

& CA-7 
& CA-7a 
& CA-20
& cover letter from AO to OWCP requesting compensation for wage loss.

5 OWCP will return incomplete claims and claims with insufficient medical evidence to support
all hours with disapproval letter, CA-1207. 

6 If medical evidence supports all of the hours, OWCP keys payment in full and issues the
approval letter for wage loss (CA-1208).  DOL will send the check to the employee’s home
address.

Continued on the next page
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Notice PM-2233 Exhibit 1

CA-7, Claim for Compensation

Following is an example of a completed CA-7, page 1.
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CA-7, Claim of Compensation (Continued)

Following is an example of a completed CA-7, page 2.
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CA-7a, Time Analysis Form

Following is an example of a completed CA-7a.
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CA-7b, Leave Buy Back (LBB) Worksheet/Certification and Election

Following is an example of a completed CA-7b, page 1.
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Notice PM-2233 Exhibit 3

CA-7b, Leave Buy Back (LBB) Worksheet/Certification and Election (Continued)

Following is an example of a completed CA-7b, page 2.


