

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 11 Kentucky Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, Landslides, and Mudslides

News Release | Kentucky | June 13, 2024

View PDF

These Presidential disaster declarations allow the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kentucky

<u>Triggering Disaster #1:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, Landslides, and Mudslides that occurred on April 2, 2024.

Application Deadline: January 22, 2025.

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union, Whitley.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky: Bell, Bourbon, Bracken, Bullitt, Carroll, Clark, Crittenden, Elliott, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Hardin, Henderson, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lewis, McCreary, Madison, Mercer, Owen, Robertson, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, Webster, Woodford.

Illinois: Gallatin, Hardin.

Indiana: Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Posey.

Ohio: Adams, Brown, Lawrence, Scioto.

Tennessee: Campbell, Claiborne.

West Virginia: Wayne

Impacted Area: West Virginia

<u>Triggering Disaster #2:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides that occurred April 2 to April 6, 2024.

Application Deadline: January 22, 2025.

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Boone, Brooke, Cabell, Fayette, Hancock, Kanawha, Lincoln, Marshall, Nicholas, Ohio, Preston, Putnam, Tyler, Wayne, Wetzel.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky: Boyd, Lawrence, Martin.

Maryland: Garrett.

Ohio: Belmont, Columbiana, Gallia, Jefferson, Lawrence, Monroe, Washington.

Pennsylvania: Beaver, Fayette, Greene, Washington.

West Virginia: Barbour, Braxton, Clay, Doddridge, Grant, Greenbrier, Harrison, Jackson, Logan, Marion, Mason, Mingo, Monongalia, Pleasants, Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Webster, Wyoming.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.

SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov