

USDA Designates Pennsylvania Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas Due to Frost and Freeze

News Release | Pennsylvania | June 18, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New York

Triggering Disaster: Frost and Freeze from 4/22/2024 - 4/27/2024

Application Deadline: 2/23/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Saratoga, Schuyler, Tioga, Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New York: Albany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cortland, Fulton, Genesee, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Seneca, Steuben, Tompkins, Warren, Washington, Wyoming, Yates

Pennsylvania: Bradford, Erie, Susquehanna, Tioga, Warren

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov