

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 22 Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Recent Severe Storms and Flooding

News Release | Minnesota | August 01, 2024

View PDF

Numerous additional contiguous counties eligible for assistance due to severe weather in Minnesota and Iowa.

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

<u>Triggering Disaster 1:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4797)

Application Deadline: February 28, 2025

<u>Primary Counties Eligible</u>: Blue Earth, Carver, Cass, Cook, Cottonwood, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Jackson, Lake, Le Sueur, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, St. Louis, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Aitkin, Beltrami, Brown, Carlton, Crow Wing, Dakota, Dodge, Hennepin, Houston, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Martin, Morrison, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Redwood, Scott, Sibley, Todd, Wadena, Winona, Wright

lowa: Dickinson, Emmet, Howard, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth

South Dakota: Brookings, Minnehaha, Moody

Wisconsin: Buffalo, Douglas, Pepin, Pierce

<u>Disaster 1, Amendment 1:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024, and July 4, 2024. (M4797)

Application Deadline: February 28, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: No additions.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: No additions.

<u>Disaster 1, Amendment 2:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024, and July 4, 2024. (M4797)

Application Deadline: March 31, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Itasca, Mower, and Nicollet

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Howard, Mitchell, Worth

Minnesota: Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Cass, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Koochiching, Le

Sueur, Olmsted, Renville, St. Louis, Sibley, Steele

<u>Triggering Disaster 2:</u> Severe Storm, Tornadoes, and Flooding occurring from May 20 to May 21, 2024. (M4784)

Application Deadline: January 24, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Adair, Montgomery, Polk, Story

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Adams, Audubon, Boone, Cass, Dallas, Fremont, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mills, Page, Pottawattamie, Taylor, Union, Warren

<u>Disaster 2, Amendment 1:</u> Severe Storm, Tornadoes, and Flooding occurring from May 20 to May 31, 2024. (M4784)

Application Deadline: January 24, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: No additions.

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> No additions.

<u>Disaster 2, Amendment 2:</u> Severe Storm, Tornadoes, and Flooding (M4784) occurring from May 20 to May 31, 2024.

Application Deadline: February 24, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Adams, Cedar, Jasper

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Adair, Cass, Clinton, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Montgomery, Muscatine, Page, Polk, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Scott, Story, Tama, Taylor, Union

<u>Disaster 2, Amendment 3:</u> Severe Storm, Tornadoes, and Flooding (M4784) occurring from May 20 to May 31, 2024.

Application Deadline: February 27, 2025

<u>Primary Iowa Counties Eligible:</u> Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Dallas, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Iowa, Jackson, Kossuth, Marshall, Mitchell, Muscatine, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Shelby, Tama, and Wright

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Carroll, Jo Daviess, Rock Island

Iowa: Adair, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clinton, Crawford, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Floyd, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hardin, Howard, Ida, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Louisa, Madison, Mahaska, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Sac, Scott, Sioux, Story, Warren, Washington, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, Worth

Minnesota: Faribault, Martin, Mower

Nebraska: Burt, Douglas, Sarpy, Washington

<u>Triggering Disaster 3:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: February 24, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Clay, Emmet, Lyon, Plymouth, Sioux

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Dickinson, Kossuth, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Woodbury

Minnesota: Jackson, Martin, Nobles, Rock

South Dakota: Lincoln, Minnehaha, Union

<u>Disaster 3, Amendment 1:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 3, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Buena Vista, Cherokee, O'Brien

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Calhoun, Clay, Dickinson, Ida, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Woodbury

<u>Disaster 3, Amendment 2:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 10, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Woodbury

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Cherokee, Crawford, Ida, Monona, Plymouth

Nebraska: Dakota, Thurston

South Dakota: Union

<u>Disaster 3, Amendment 3:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 18, 2025

<u>Primary Iowa Counties Eligible:</u> Dickinson, Humboldt, Palo Alto

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Buena Vista, Clay, Emmet. Hancock, Kossuth, O'Brien, Osceola, Pocahontas, Webster, Wright

Minnesota: Jackson

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov