

FEMA Designates 89 Kentucky Counties as a Natural Disaster Area Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, Landslides and Mudslides that occurred May 21 to May 27, 2024 – Lawrence and Scioto Counties in Ohio are Eligible as Contiguous Counties

News Release | Ohio | September 03, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. USDA's FSA offers these loans for losses caused by the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, landslides and mudslides that occurred on May 21 to May 27, 2024. The deadline for producers in designated primary and contiguous counties to apply for loans is July 24, 2025.

Impacted Area: Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Ohio, and Tennessee

<u>**Triggering Disaster**</u>: Severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, landslides, and mudslides that occurred on May 21, 2024, to May 27, 2024.

Application Deadline: July 24, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Kentucky – Adair, Allen, Ballard, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Crittendon, Cumberland, Edmonson, Estill, Fulton, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Marshall, Meade, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Owsley, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Whitley, and Woodford Counties.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky – Anderson, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clark, Daviess, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Hardin, Harian, Henderson, Jessamine, Lewis, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Nelson, Perry, Powell, Rowan, Scott, Taylor, Union, Webster and Wolfe Counties.

Illinois - Alexander, Hardin, Massac, Pope, and Pulaski Counties.

Indiana – Crawford, Harrison and Perry Counties.

Missouri – Mississippi and New Madrid Counties.

Ohio – Lawrence and Scioto Counties.

Tennessee – Campbell, Claiborne, Clay, Henry, Lake, Macon, Montgomery, Obion, Pickett, Robertson, Scott, Stewart, Sumner and Weakley Counties.

More Resources:

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit <u>fema.gov/assistance</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov