

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 2 South Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

News Release | Wyoming | October 01, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought that occurred beginning 08/20/2024.

Application Deadline: 8 months from date the memo was signed (If the deadline date falls on a Sat. or Sun., make the deadline the following Monday. If the deadline date falls on a federal holiday, make it the next business day)

Primary Counties Eligible:

South Dakota – Custer and Pennington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Dakota – Lawrence, Meade, Haakon, Jackson, Oglala Lakota, and Fall River

Additional State: Wyoming – Niobrara and Weston

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov