

USDA Designates 28 Oklahoma Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

Emergency Designation | Oklahoma | November 05, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: June 9, 2025

Impacted Area: Texas

Primary Counties Eligible: Briscoe, Collingsworth, Fannin, Motley

Contiguous Counties Eligible:

Oklahoma: Beckham, Bryan, Harmon *Texas*: Armstrong, Childress, Collin, Cottle, Crosby, Delta, Dickens, Donley, Floyd, Gray, Grayson, Hall, Hunt, King, Lamar, Swisher, Wheeler

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought

Application Deadline: June 9, 2025

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Bryan, Craig, Jefferson, Logan, Mayes, Nowata, Pawnee, Payne, Rogers, Stephens

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kansas: Cherokee, Labette, Montgomery *Oklahoma*: Atoka, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Comanche, Cotton, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Johnston, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Love, Marshall, Noble, Oklahoma, Osage, Ottawa, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington *Texas*: Clay, Fannin, Grayson, Lamar, Montague

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Impacted Area: Texas

Primary Counties Eligible: Grayson, Lamar

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oklahoma: Bryan, Choctaw, Love, Marshall *Texas*: Collin, Cooke, Delta, Denton, Fannin, Red River

Triggering Disaster 4: Drought

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Adair, Carter, Delaware, Grady, Johnston, Love, Marshall, Ottawa, Tulsa

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: *Arkansas*: Benton, Crawford, Washington *Kansas*: Cherokee *Missouri*: McDonald, Newton *Oklahoma*: Atoka, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Coal, Comanche, Craig, Creek, Garvin, Jefferson, McClain, Mayes, Murray, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Pontotoc, Rogers, Sequoyah, Stephens, Wagoner, Washington *Texas:* Cooke, Grayson, Montague

Triggering Disaster 5: Drought

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Impacted Area: Kansas

Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Labette

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: *Kansas*: Crawford, Montgomery, Neosho *Missouri*: Jasper, Newton *Oklahoma*: Craig, Nowata, Ottawa

Triggering Disaster 6: Drought

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Impacted Area: Missouri

Primary Counties Eligible: Barry, Barton, Dade, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Stone, Taney

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: *Arkansas*: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Marion *Kansas*: Cherokee, Crawford *Missouri*: Cedar, Christian, Douglas, Greene, Ozark, Polk, Vernon *Oklahoma*: Delaware, Ottawa

Triggering Disaster 7: Drought

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Impacted Area: Arkansas

Primary Counties Eligible: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Arkansas: Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Marion, Newton, Searcy Missouri: Barry, McDonald, Stone, Taney Oklahoma: Adair, Delaware

Triggering Disaster 8: Drought

Application Deadline: June 18, 2025

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Garvin, Grant, Kay, McCurtain, Murray, Pittsburg, Wagoner

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Arkansas: Little River, Polk, Sevier

Kansas: Cowley, Harper, Sumner

Oklahoma: Adair, Alfalfa, Atoka, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Delaware, Garfield, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, McClain, McIntosh, Mayes, Muskogee, Noble, Okmulgee, Osage, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Rogers, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tulsa *Texas*: Bowie, Red River

Triggering Disaster 9: Drought

Application Deadline: June 21, 2025

Impacted Area: Texas

Primary Counties Eligible: Baylor, Donely, Knox, Red River, Young

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oklahoma: Choctaw, McCurtain

Texas: Archer, Armstrong, Bowie, Briscoe, Carson, Collingsworth, Delta, Foard, Franklin, Gray, Hall, Haskell, Jack, King, Lamar, Morris, Palo Pinto, Stephens, Stonewall, Throckmorton, Titus, Wheeler,

Triggering Disaster 10: Drought

Application Deadline: June 23, 2025

Impacted Area: Kansas

Primary Counties Eligible: Cowley, Crawford

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: *Kansas*: Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Elk, Labette, Neosho, Sedgwick, Sumner *Missouri*: Barton, Jasper, Vernon *Oklahoma*: Kay, Osage

Triggering Disaster 11: Drought

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Impacted Area: Texas

Primary Counties Eligible: Coryell, Delta, Grayson, Hill

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oklahoma: Bryan, Love, Marshall *Texas*: Bell, Bosque, Collin, Cooke, Denton, Ellis, Fannin, Franklin, Hamilton, Hopkins, Hunt, Johnson, Lamar, Lampasas, Limestone, McLennan, Navarro, Red River

Triggering Disaster 12: Drought

Application Deadline: June 30, 2025

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Ellis

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oklahoma: Beaver, Dewey, Harper, Roger Mills, Woodward **Texas:** Hemphill, Lipscomb

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov