

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 9 Wyoming Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Wildfires

Emergency Designation | Colorado | November 01, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Wyoming

Triggering Disaster: Wildfires that started June 11, 2024

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Albany, Converse Crook, Goshen, Hot Springs, Johnson, Platte,

Sheridan, and Weston

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Wyoming: Big Horn, Campbell, Carbon, Fremont, Laramie, Natrona, Niobrara, Park, and Washakie

Colorado: Jackson and Larimer

Montana: Big Horn, Carter, and Powder River **Nebraska:** Banner, Scotts Bluff, and Sioux

South Dakota: Butte, Custer, Lawrence, and Pennington

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov