

USDA Designates Texas Counties (S5953) as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought (Fast-Track)

Emergency Designation | New Mexico | March 26, 2025

USDA Designates Texas Counties (S5953) as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought (Fast-Track)

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Triggering Disaster #1

Impacted Area: Texas, New Mexico, and Oklahoma

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-Track)

Application Deadline: 11/25/2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• Texas: Archer, Atascosa, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brewster, Briscoe, Burnet, Caldwell, Childress, Clay, Collingsworth, Comal, Cooke, Coryell, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Dickens, Dimmit, Donley, Edwards, El Paso, Fannin, Foard, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Grayson, Guadalupe, Hall, Hardeman, Hays, Hudspeth, Jack, Jeff Davis, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Knox, Lamar, Lampasas, La Salle, Lee, Live Oak, Llano, Loving, McCulloch, McLennan, McMullen, Mason, Maverick, Medina, Milam, Montague, Motley, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Red River, Reeves, San Patricio, San Saba, Terrell, Travis, Upton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward, Wichita, Wilbarger, Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Young, and Zavala.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

- New Mexico: Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, and Otero.
- Oklahoma: Beckham, Bryan, Choctaw, Cotton, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Love, McCurtain, Marshall, and Tillman.
- Texas: Andrews, Aransas, Armstrong, Bosque, Bowie, Brooks, Brown, Burleson, Carson, Coleman, Collin, Concho, Crosby, Delta, Denton, DeWitt, Duval, Ector, Falls, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Garza, Glasscock, Gray, Hamilton, Haskell, Hill, Hunt, Irion, Kent, Kleberg, Lavaca, Limestone, Menard, Midland, Mills, Morris, Nueces, Palo Pinto, Parker, Reagan, Refugio, Robertson, Schleicher, Stephens, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Throckmorton, Titus, Victoria, Washington, Webb, Wheeler, and Wise.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov