

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates 11 New Mexico Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

Emergency Designation | Texas | March 27, 2025

View PDF

### **Ten Texas Counties Also Eligible for Assistance**

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: New Mexico

**Triggering Disaster:** Drought (Fast-Track)

**Application Deadline:** November 25, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Catron, Chaves, Dona Ana, Eddy, Grant, Hidalgo, Lea, Lincoln, Luna,

Otero, and Sierra

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Cibola, De Baca, Guadalupe, Roosevelt, Socorro, and Torrance

Arizona: Apache, Cochise, and Greenlee

Texas: Andrews, Cochran, Culberson, El Paso, Gaines, Hudspeth, Loving, Reeves, Winkler, and

Yoakum

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet,

and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov