

USDA Designates 86 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

Emergency Designation | Texas | March 27, 2025

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-Track)

Application Deadline: November 24, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

Archer	Atascosa	Bandera	Bastrop	Baylor
Bee	Bell	Bexar	Blanco	Brewster
Briscoe	Burnet	Caldwell	Childress	Clay
Collingsworth	Comal	Cooke	Coryell	Cottle

Crane	Crockett	Culberson	Dickens	Dimmit
Donley	Edwards	El Paso	Fannin	Foard
Frio	Gillespie	Goliad	Gonzales	Grayson
Guadalupe	Hall	Hardeman	Hays	Hudspeth
Jack	Jeff Davis	Jim Wells	Karnes	Kendall
Kerr	Kimble	King	Kinney	Knox
Lamar	Lampasas	LaSalle	Lee	Live Oak
Llano	Loving	McCulloch	McLennan	McMullen
Mason	Maverick	Medina	Milam	Montague
Motley	Pecos	Presidio	Real	Red River
Reeves	San Patricio	San Saba	Terrell	Travis
Upton	Uvalde	Val Verde	Ward	Wichita
Wilbarger	Williamson	Wilson	Winkler	Young
Zapata				

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Andrews	Aransas	Armstrong	Bosque	Bowie
Brooks	Brown	Burleson	Carson	Coleman

Collin	Concho	Crosby	Delta	Denton
DeWitt	Duval	Ector	Falls	Fayette
Floyd	Franklin	Garza	Glasscock	Gray
Hamilton	Haskell	Hill	Hunt	Irion
Kent	Kleberg	Lavaca	Limestone	Menard
Midland	Mills	Morris	Nueces	Palo Pinto
Parker	Reagan	Refugio	Robertson	Schleicher
Stephens	Stonewall	Sutton	Swisher	Throckmorton
Titus	Victoria	Washington	Webb	Wheeler
Wise				

New Mexico: Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, and Otero

Oklahoma: Beckham, Bryan, Choctaw, Cotton, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Love, Marshall, McCurtain, and Tillman

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov