

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Kay County as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

Emergency Designation | Oklahoma | March 27, 2025

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Kansas and Oklahoma

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Drought (Fast-Track) **Application Deadline:** November 25, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Kay
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
Oklahoma: Garfield, Grant, Noble, Osage

Kansas: Cowley, Sumner

Impacted Area: New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Drought (Fast-Track)

<u>Application Deadline:</u> November 25, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

Texas: Archer, Atascosa, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brewster, Briscoe, Burnet, Caldwell, Childress, Clay, Collingsworth, Comal, Cooke, Coryell, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Dickens, Dimmit, Donely, Edwards, El Paso, Fannin, Foard, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Grayson,

Guadalupe, Hall, Hardeman, Hays, Hudspeth, Jack, Jeff Davis, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Knox, Lamar, Lampasas, La Salle, Lee, Live Oak, Llano, Loving, McCulloch, McLennan, McMullen, Mason, Maverick, Medina, Milam, Montague, Motley, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Red River, Reeves, San Patricio, San Saba, Terrell, Travis, Upton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward, Wichita, Wilbarger, Williamson, Wilson, Winker, Young, Zavala

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Mexico: Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, Otero

Oklahoma: Beckham, Bryan, Choctaw, Cotton, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Love, McCurtain, Marshall, Tillman

Stakeholder Notification

Texas: Andrews, Aransas, Armstrong, Bosque, Bowie, Brooks, Brown, Burleson, Carson, Coleman, Collin, Concho, Crosby, Delta, Denton, DeWitt, Ducal, Ector, Falls, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Garza, Glasscock, Gray, Hamilton, Haskell, Hill, Hunt, Irion, Kent, Kleberg, Lavaca, Limestone, Menard, Midland, Mills, Morris, Nueces, Palo Pinto, Parker, Reagan, Refugio, Robertson, Schleicher, Stephens, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Throckmorton, Titus, Victoria, Washington, Webb, Wheeler, Wise

Impacted Area: Arkansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Drought (Fast-Track) **Application Deadline:** November 25, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

Arkansas: Benton, Boone, Calhoun, Carroll, Columbia, Howard, Madison, Montgomery, Newton,

Ouachita, Polk, Scott, Union, Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Arkansas: Ashley, Bradley, Clark, Cleveland, Crawford, Dallas, Franklin, Garland, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Johnson, Lafayette, Little River, Logan, Marion, Nevada, Pike, Pope, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Yell

Louisiana: Claiborne, Morehouse, Union, Webster

Missouri: Barry, McDonald, Stone, Taney

Oklahoma: Adair, Delaware, Le Flore, McCurtain

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov