

USDA Designates 14 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for

Drought

Emergency Designation | Texas | April 09, 2025

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-Track)

Application Deadline: December 1, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

Aransas	Colorado	DeWitt	Duval	Jackson
Jim Hogg	Lavaca	Menard	Nueces	Refugio
Starr	Victoria	Webb	Zapata	

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Austin	Bee	Brooks	Calhoun	Concho
Dimmit	Fayette	Goliad	Gonzales	Hidalgo
Jim Wells	Karnes	Kimble	Kleberg	LaSalle

Live Oak	McCulloch	McMullen	Mason	Matagorda
Maverick	San Patricio	Schleicher	Sutton	Tom Green
Wharton				

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

