USDA Designates Utah as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought Emergency Designation | Arizona | April 07, 2025

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Utah

Triggering Disaster: Drought that occurred on 01/28/2025

Application Deadline: 12/01/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Beaver, San Juan

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Kane, Millard, Piute, Sevier, Wayne

Additional State: Arizona

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Apache, Coconino, Navajo

Additional State: Colorado

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Dolores, Mesa, Montezuma, Montrone, San Miguel

Additional State: Nevada

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Lincoln

Additional State: New Mexico

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: San Juan

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan</u> <u>Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov