

USDA Designates Seven Nebraska Counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | South Dakota | April 16, 2025

View PDF

Five South Dakota Counties Designated as Contiguous

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Nebraska

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-Track)

Application Deadline: Dec. 9, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Banner, Box Butte, Cherry, Dawes, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, and Sioux

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Nebraska: Blaine, Brown, Cheyenne, Garden, Grant, Hooker, Keya Paha, Kimball, Morrill, and Thomas

South Dakota: Bennett, Fall River, Oglala Lakota, Todd, and Tripp

Wyoming: Goshen, Laramie, and Niobrara

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan</u> <u>Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov