

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Seven Nebraska Counties as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought

Emergency Designation | Nebraska | April 16, 2025

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Nebraska

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: 12/09/2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

 State: Nebraska: Counties include Banner, Box Butte, Cherry, Dawes, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan and Sioux

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

- State: **Nebraska:** Counties include Blaine, Brown, Cheyenne, Garden, Grant, Hooker, Keya Paha, Kimball, Morrill, Thomas
- State: South Dakota: Counties include Bennett, Fall River, Oglala Lakota, Todd, Tripp
- State: Wyoming: Counties include Goshen, Laramie, Niobrara

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov