

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Multiple Counties in Kentucky as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Emergency Designation | Kentucky | April 09, 2025

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

1. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: October 24, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Breathitt, Clay, Harlan, Knott, Lee, Letcher, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• **Kentucky:** Bell, Estill, Floyd, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Leslie, Magoffin, Powell, Wolfe

• Virginia: Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Wise

• West Virginia: Mingo, Wayne

2. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 1:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: October 27, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Floyd

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Kentucky: Johnson, Knott, Magoffin, Martin, Pike

3. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 2:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 03, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• **Kentucky:** Estill, Johnson, Simpson

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• **Kentucky:** Allen, Clark, Floyd, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Powell, Warren

4. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 3:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 04, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

 Kentucky: Ballard, Barren, Butler, Green, Hart, Marshall, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Spencer, Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Illinois: Alexander, Pulaski

• **Kentucky:** Adair, Allen, Anderson, Bullitt, Calloway, Carlisle, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Larue, Laurel,

Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McCreary, Madison, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Pulaski, Russell, Shelby, Taylor, Trigg, Warren

• Missouri: Mississippi

• Tennessee: Pickett, Scott

5. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 4:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 10, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

 Kentucky: Allen, Boyd, Caldwell, Carlisle, Crittenden, Hickman, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Illinois: Hardin

• **Kentucky:** Ballard, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Carter, Christian, Cumberland, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Greenup, Hancock, Hopkins, Lawrence, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McLean, Metcalfe, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren, Webster

• Missouri: Mississippi

• Tennessee: Clay, Macon, Obion, Sumner, Weakley

• West Virginia: Wayne

6. <u>Triggering Presidential Designation M4860</u>, Amendment 5:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 10, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• **Kentucky:** Adair, Bell, Cumberland, Elliott, Hancock, Knox, Livingston, McLean, Morgan, Union

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Illinois: Gallatin, Hardin, Massac, Pope

• Indiana: Perry, Posey, Spender

 Kentucky: Breckinridge, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Daviess, Green, Harlan, Henderson, Hopkins, Johnson, Laurel, Lawrence, Leslie, Lyon, McCracken, Magoffin, Marshall, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Rowan, Russell, Taylor, Webster, Whitley, Wolfe

• Tennessee: Claiborne, Clay

• Virginia: Lee

7. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 6:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 14, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

 Kentucky: Breckinridge, Edmonson, Franklin, Greenup, Henderson, Henry, Jackson, Lawrence, Leslie, Menifee, Nicholas, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Whitley, Wolfe, Woodford,

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Indiana: Perry, Posey, Vanderburgh, Warrick

Kentucky: Anderson, Barren, Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Bracken, Breathitt, Butler, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Clark, Clay, Daviess, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Jessamine, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, McLean, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Meade, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Oldham, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Perry, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Trimble, Union, Warren, Wayne, Webster

• Ohio: Lawrence, Scioto

• Tennessee: Campbell, Claiborne

• West Virginia: Wayne

8. <u>Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 7:</u> This amendment closes the incident period effective March 7, 2025. Incident Period: 02/14/2025 through 03/07/2025 (changed from February 14, 2025 and continuing.)

9. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 8:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: December 01, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Bullitt, Hopkins, Jefferson, Lewis, Magoffin, Russell, Trigg

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Indiana: Clark, Floyd, Harrison

 Kentucky: Adair, Breathitt, Caldwell, Calloway, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clinton, Cumberland, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Hardin, Johnson, Knott, Lyon, McLean, Marshall, Mason, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Oldham, Pulaski, Rowan, Shelby, Spencer, Wayne, Webster, Wolfe

• Ohio: Adams, Scioto

• Tennessee: Stewart

10. <u>Triggering Presidential Designation M4860</u>, <u>Amendment 9</u>:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: December 09, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Laurel, McCreary

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Kentucky: Clay, Jackson, Knox, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne, Whitley

• Tennessee: Campbell, Scott

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov