Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Five Wyoming Counties as Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | Nebraska | May 15, 2025

View PDF

Nebraska Counties Included as Contiguous

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Wyoming

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-Track)

Application Deadline: Jan. 5, 2026

Primary Counties Eligible:

State: Wyoming: Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Niobrara and Platte

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

State: Colorado: Larimer and Weld

State: Nebraska: Banner, Kimball, Scotts Bluff and Sioux

State: South Dakota: Custer and Fall River

State: Wyoming: Albany, Campbell, Carbon, Johnson, Natrona and Weston

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or

to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov