

USDA Designates Six Texas Counties as Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | Texas | June 11, 2025

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast-Track)

Application Deadline: February 2, 2026

Primary Counties Eligible: Dawson, Ector, Hemphill, Lipscomb, Martin and Midland

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Andrews	Borden	Crane	Gaines	Glasscock
Gray	Howard	Lynn	Ochiltree	Reagan
Roberts	Terry	Upton	Ward	Wheeler
Winkler				

• Oklahoma: Beaver, Ellis and Roger Mills

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov