

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 11 Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Dakota | February 27, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, **Feb. 27**, **2020** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 11 Minnesota counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses caused by six separate disaster events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Drought

Producers in Kittson County who suffered losses due to drought that occurred May 1 through Oct. 30, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Minnesota counties of Marshall and Roseau, along with Pembina County, North Dakota, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain

Producers in Cottonwood, Jackson, Stevens, and Traverse counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain that occurred March 12 through Nov. 11, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Minnesota counties of Big Stone, Brown, Douglas, Grant, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Pope, Redwood, Swift, Watonwan, and Wilkin, along with Dickinson, Emmet, and Osceola counties in Iowa; Richland County, North Dakota; and Roberts County, South Dakota, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain, High Winds, and Hail

Producers in Grant County who suffered losses due to excessive rain, high winds, and hail that occurred Sept. 2 through Oct. 22, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Minnesota counties of Douglas, Otter Trail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, and Excessive Moisture

Producers in Nobles County who suffered losses due to excessive rain, flash flooding, and excessive moisture that occurred April 10 through Nov. 11, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Minnesota counties of Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, and Rock, along with Lyon and Osceola counties in Iowa, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Snow, Freeze, Excessive Rain, Flooding, High Winds, and Hail

Producers in Norman County who suffered losses due to excessive snow, freeze, excessive rain, flooding, high winds, and hail that has occurred since July 1, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Minnesota counties of Becker, Clay, Mahnomen, and Polk, along with Cass and Traill counties in North Dakota, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, and Flooding

Producers in Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain, flash flooding, and flooding that occurred from Sept. 20 through Dec. 1, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Minnesota counties of Beltrami, Itasca, Kittson, Marshall, and St. Louis are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 19, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage
Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree
Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov