

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 14 Virginia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | December 07, 2020

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Dec. 7, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 14 Virginia counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in who suffered losses caused by recent natural disasters may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Drought and Excessive Heat – June 1 – July 31, 2020

Producers in Accomack, Greensville and Northampton counties who suffered losses caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred between June 1 and July 31, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous counties and independent cities listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

Virginia: Brunswick, Dinwiddie, Southampton, Sussex and Emporia

Maryland: Somerset and Worcester

North Carolina: Northampton

Drought – June 1 – Aug. 1, 2020

Producers in Caroline, Dinwiddie, Essex, Hanover, Isle of Wight, King and Queen, King George, King William, Spotsylvania and Stafford counties who suffered losses caused by a drought that occurred June 1 through Aug. 1, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous counties and independent cities listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- Virginia: Amelia, Brunswick, Chesterfield, Culpeper, Fauquier, Gloucester, Goochland, Greensville, Henrico, Lancaster, Louisa, Middlesex, New Kent, Nottoway, Orange, Prince George, Prince William, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, Franklin City, Fredericksburg, Newport News, Petersburg and Suffolk
- Maryland: Charles

Drought and Excessive Heat - June 26-Aug. 3, 2020

Producers in Southampton County who suffered losses caused by a drought and excessive heat that occurred June 26 through Aug. 3, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous counties and independent cities listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- Virginia: Greensville, Isle of Wight, Surry, Sussex, Emporia, Franklin City and Suffolk
- North Carolina: Gates, Herford and Northampton

The deadline to apply for emergency loans under this designation is Aug. 2, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage
Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree
Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov