

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 22 Kentucky Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Kentucky | February 12, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Feb. 12, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 22 Kentucky counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breckinridge, Carter, Casey, Daviess, Garrard, Greenup, Hancock, Henderson, Laurel, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Meade, Mercer, Ohio, Robertson, Rowan, and Washington counties who suffered losses due to drought and high temperatures that occurred from July 1, 2019, and continuing, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Kentucky counties of Adair, Anderson, Bath, Butler, Clay, Elliott, Fleming, Grayson, Hardin, Harrison, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knox, McCreary, McLean, Madison, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor, Union, Webster, Whitley and Woodford, along with Crawford, Harrison, Perry, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Warrick counties in Indiana; Adams, Brown, Clermont, Lawrence, and Scioto counties in Ohio; and Wayne County in West Virginia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 5, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree

Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov