

USDA Designates 21 New Mexico Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | March 28, 2019

View PDF

Release No. 0030.19

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, March 28, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 21 New Mexico counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Bernalillo, Catron, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Eddy, Grant, Lincoln, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, Otero, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro, Taos and Union counties who suffered losses caused by recent drought, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster area designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous New Mexico counties of De Baca, Dona Ana, Guadalupe, Harding, Hidalgo, Lea, Luna, Quay, Roosevelt, Torrance and Valencia, along with Apache and Greenlee counties in Arizona; Archuleta, Baca, Conejos, Costilla, La Plata, Las Animas and Montezuma counties in Colorado; Cimarron County, Oklahoma; Culberson, Dallam, El Paso, Hartley, Hudspeth, Loving and Reeves counties in Texas; and San Juan County, Utah, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Nov. 22, 2019.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov