USDA Designates 14 Nevada Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | May 10, 2021

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Nevada

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Churchill	Esmeralda	Lander	Mineral	Washoe
Clark	Eureka	Lincoln	Nye	White Pine
Elko	Humboldt	Lyon	Pershing	

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

Nevada: Douglas, Storey and Carson City

Arizona: Mohave

California: Inyo, Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, San Bernardino and Sierra

Idaho: Cassia, Owyhee and Twin Falls

Oregon: Harney, Lake and Malheur

Utah: Beaver, Box Elder, Iron, Juab, Millard, Tooele and Washington

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov