

USDA Designates 118 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | May 10, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Andrews Aransas Armstrong Atascosa Bailey Bandera Bastrop Bell Bexar

- Blanco
- Borden
- Brazos
- Brewster
- Briscoe
- Brooks
- Brown
- Burleson
- Caldwell
- Cameron
- Castro
- Childress
- Cochran
- Coleman
- Collingsworth

Comal

- Concho
- Crane
- Crockett
- Crosby
- Culberson
- Dallam
- Dawson
- Deaf Smith
- Dickens
- Dimmit
- Donley
- Duval
- Ector
- Edwards
- El Paso
- Floyd
- Frio
- Gaines
- Garza
- Gillespie

Glasscock

Gray

Grimes

Guadalupe Hale Hall Hardeman Hays Hemphill Hidalgo Hockley Howard Hudspeth Irion Jeff Davis Jim Hogg Kendall Kenedy Kerr Kimble Kinney Lamb La Salle Lee Llano Loving Lubbock Lynn McCulloch McMullen Martin Mason

Maverick

Medina

Menard

- Midland
- Milam
- Mills
- Motley
- Nueces
- Oldham
- Parmer
- Pecos
- Presidio Randall
- Reagan
- Real
- Reeves
- Refugio
- Roberts

Runnels

- San Patricio
- San Saba
- Starr
- Sterling
- Swisher
- Terrell
- Terry
- Tom Green
- Travis
- Upton
- Uvalde
- Val Verde
- Ward
- Webb
- Wheeler
- Willacy
- Williamson
- Wilson
- Winkler

Yoakum Zapata Zavala

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

Texas: Bee, Burnet, Calhoun, Callahan, Carson, Coke, Camanche, Coryell, Cottle, Eastland, Falls, Fayette, Foard, Goliad, Gonzales, Hamilton, Hansford, Hartley, Hutchison, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kent, King, Kleberg, Lampasas, Leon, Lipscomb, Live Oak, McLennan, Madison, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nolan, Ochiltree, Potter, Robertson, Schleicher, Scurry, Sherman, Stonewall, Sutton, Taylor, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington and Wilbarger.

New Mexico: Curry, Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, Otero, Quay, Roosevelt and Union

Oklahoma: Beckham, Cimarron, Ellis, Harmon, Jackson and Roger Mills

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov