

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 30 Kansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Oklahoma | May 12, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Republic

State: Kansas

Chevenne

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Officycline	Reality	Republic
Clay	Lincoln	Scott
Cloud	Logan	Sheridan
Decatur	Marshall	Sherman

Kearny

Gove Mitchell Smith

Graham Morton Stanton

Grant Norton Thomas

Greeley Ottawa Wallace

Hamilton Phillips Washington

Jewell Rawlins Wichita

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kansas: Dickinson, Ellsworth, Finney, Geary, Haskell, Lane, Nemaha, Ness, Osborne, Pottawatomie, Riley, Rooks, Russell, Saline, Stevens and Trego

Colorado: Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Prowers and Yuma

Nebraska: Dundy, Franklin, Furnas, Gage, Harlan, Hitchcock, Jefferson, Nuckolls, Pawnee, Red Willow, Thayer and Webster

Oklahoma: Cimarron and Texas

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov