

## USDA Designates Seven Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | May 11, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 20, 2021

**Primary Counties Eligible:** 

Fayette Gonzales

Kent Lavaca

Parker Stonewall

## Wise

## **Contiguous Counties also Eligible:**

Austin Bastrop Caldwell Colorado Cooke Crosby Denton DeWitt Dickens Fisher Garza Guadalupe Haskell Hood Jack Jackson Johnson Jones Karnes King Knox Lee Montague Palo Pinto Scurry Tarrant

Victoria

Washington Wilson

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov