

USDA Designates 48 North Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | May 12, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

State: North Dakota

Triggering Disaster #1: Drought that occurred during April 15, 2020 and continuing.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Adams Billings

Dunn Golden Valley

Grant Mercer

Stark Williams

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

• North Dakota:

Bowman Burke Divide

Hettinger McKenzie McLean

Morton Mountrail Oliver

Sioux Slope

- Montana: Fallon, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan and Wibaux
- South Dakota: Corson, Harding and Perkins

Triggering Disaster #2: Drought, freeze and frost that occurred during July 15, 2020, and continuing.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Bottineau Divide

Kidder McHenry

Pierce Wells

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

• North Dakota:

Benson

Burke

Burleigh

Eddy

Emmons

Foster Logan McLean Renville Rolette

Sheridan Stutsman Towner Ward Williams

• Montana: Sheridan

Triggering Disaster #3: Drought, freeze and frost that occurred during April 15, 2020, and continuing.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Bowman and Slope

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

- North Dakota: Adams, Billings, Golden Valley, Hettinger and Stark
- Montana: Fallon
- South Dakota: Harding

Triggering Disaster #4: Frost that occurred September 7 through September 15, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Burke Burleigh

McLean Mountrail

Renville Rolette

Ward

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Bottineau

Divide

Dunn

Emmons

Kidder

McHenry

McKenzie

Mercer

Morton

Oliver

Pierce

Sheridan Towner

Williams

Triggering Disaster #5: Excessive moisture and rain that occurred January 1 through June 5, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Cavalier, Ramsey and Towner

Contiguous Counties also Eligible: Benson, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Rolette and Walsh

Triggering Disaster #6: Excessive moisture/rain and flooding that occurred January 1 through August 1, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Barnes Dickey Eddy

Emmons Foster Grand Forks

Logan Nelson Sheridan

Walsh Wells

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

• North Dakota:

Benson
Burleigh
Cass
Cavalier
Griggs
Kidder
LaMoure
McHenry
McIntosh
McLean
Morton
Pembina
Pierce
Ramsey
Ransom
Sargent
Sioux
Steele
Stutsman
Traill

- Minnesota: Marshall and Polk
- South Dakota: Brown, Campbell, Corson and McPherson

Triggering Disaster #7: Excessive moisture/rain, flooding and frost that occurred January 1 through September 15, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Benson Cass Griggs

LaMoure
McHenry
McIntosh
Pembina
Ransom
Sargent

Steele Stutsman Traill

Primary Counties Eligible:

• North Dakota:

Barnes

Bottineau

Cavalier

Dickey

Eddy

Emmons

Foster

Grand Forks

Kidder

Logan

McLean

Nelson

Pierce

Ramsey

Renville Richland Sheridan Towner Walsh Ward Wells

- Minnesota: Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman and Polk
- South Dakota: Brown, Campbell, McPherson, Marshall and Roberts

Triggering Disaster #8: Excessive moisture/rain and frost that occurred during April 15 through June 5, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Kidder

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota: Burleigh, Emmons, Logan, Sheridan, Stutsman and Wells

Triggering Disaster #9: Hail that occurred July 24, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Sioux

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

- North Dakota: Adams, Emmons, Grant and Morton
- South Dakota: Corson

Triggering Disaster #10: Hail that occurred August 12, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Sioux

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

- North Dakota: Adams, Emmons, Grant and Morton
- South Dakota: Corson

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov