

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Six Idaho Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | July 06, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Idaho

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 25, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Caribou	Lemhi	Twin Falls
Clark	Owyhee	Valley

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Idaho:

Adams	Bonnevile	Elmore	Idaho
Bannock	Butte	Franklin	Jefferson
Bear Lake	Canyon	Fremont	Jerome
Bingham	Cassia	Gem	

Montana: Beaverhead and Ravalli

Nevada: Elko and Humboldt

Oregon: Malheur

Wyoming: Lincoln

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov