

# USDA Designates Eight Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

### Emergency Designation | July 06, 2021

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 25, 2022

## **Primary Counties Eligible**:

Beaverhead	Fergus	Musselshell	Powder River
Blaine	Golden Valley	Petroleum	Rosebud

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Montana:

				Ī
Big Horn	Deer Lodge	Madison	Silver Bow	Treasure
Carter	Garfield	Phillips	Stillwater	Wheatland
Chouteau	Hill	Ravalli	Sweet Grass	Yellowstone
Custer	Judith Basin			

Idaho: Clark, Fremont and Lemhi

Wyoming: Campbell, Crook and Sheridan

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance</u> fact sheet, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

# **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov