

USDA Designates Five South Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | August 30, 2021

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

State: South Carolina

Triggering Disaster #1: Freezing temperatures that occurred during April 2 through April 3, 2021.

Application Deadline: April 12, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Greenville, Spartanburg and Union

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

South Carolina: Abbeville, Anderson, Chester, Fairfield, Laurens, Newberry, Pickens and York

North Carolina: Cleveland, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford and Transylvania

Triggering Disaster #2: Freezing temperatures that occurred during April 22, 2021.

Application Deadline: April 12, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Oconee

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

South Carolina: Anderson and Pickens

Georgia: Franklin, Habersham, Hart, Rabun and Stephens

North Carolina: Jackson, Macon and Transylvania

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov