

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Two Kansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | February 17, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kansas

Triggering Disaster: A wildfire that occurred from Dec. 15, 2021, through Dec. 16, 2021.

Application Deadline: Oct. 11, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Ellis and Russell

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Barton	Lincoln	Osborne	Rush
Ellsworth	Ness	Rooks	Trego

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov