

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

### **USDA Designates Five Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

Emergency Designation | April 27, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

**Impacted Area**: Texas

**Triggering Disaster**: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 19, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Goliad, Menard, San Patricio, Travis and Williamson

# **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible**:

#### Texas:

Aransas	DeWitt	Mason
Bastrop	Hays	Milam
Bee	Jim Wells	Nueces

Bell	Karnes	Refugio
Blanco	Kimble	Schleicher
Burnet	Lee	Sutton
Caldwell	Live Oak	Tom Green
Concho	McCulloch	Victoria

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

# **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov