

USDA Designates Six South Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | July 12, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: South Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Freezing temperatures and high winds that occurred from March 12 through March 14, 2022.

Application Deadline: Feb. 28, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Edgefield, Greenville, Saluda, Spartanburg and Union

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Carolina: Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Chester, Fairfield, Greenwood, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Pickens and York
Georgia: Columbia and Richmond
North Carolina: Cleveland, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford and Transylvania

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov