

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 12 Pennsylvania Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | February 09, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought that occurred during April 7 through October 3, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Berks, Bucks and Montgomery

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Chester, Delaware, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Northampton, Philadelphia and

Schuylkill

New Jersey: Burlington, Hunterdon, Mercer and Warren

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought that occurred during June 1 through August 31, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Bradford and Sullivan

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Columbia, Luzerne, Lycoming, Susquehanna, Tioga and Wyoming

New York: Chemung and Tioga

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought that occurred during June 1 through September 15, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Lycoming

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Bradford, Clinton, Columbia, Montour, Northumberland, Potter, Sullivan, Tioga and

Union

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 4: Drought that occurred during June 10 and August 31, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Northumberland

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Columbia, Dauphin, Juniata, Lycoming, Montour, Perry, Schuylkill, Snyder and Union

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 5: Drought that occurred during July 1 through October 1, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Lackawanna and Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Luzerne, Monroe, Pike, Susquehanna and Wyoming

New York: Broome, Delaware and Sullivan

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 6: Drought that occurred during July 1 through September 20, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Columbia and Montour

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Luzerne, Lycoming, Northumberland, Schuylkill and Sullivan

Impacted Area: Pennsylvania

Triggering Disaster 7: Drought that occurred during July 1 through September 30, 2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Cumberland

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Pennsylvania: Adams, Dauphin, Franklin, Perry and York

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov