### USDA Designates 18 Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Georgia | June 27, 2023

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee

Triggering Disaster: Freeze

Application Deadline: February 26, 2024

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Georgia: Banks, Crawford, Fannin, Gilmer, Habersham, Hall, Jackson, Johnson, Macon, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Peach, Pike, Taylor, Towns, Union, Upson

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**Georgia:** Barrow, Bibb, Butts, Clarke, Coweta, Dawson, Dooly, Elbert, Emanuel, Forsyth, Franklin, Gordon, Gwinnett, Harris, Hart, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Jones, Lamar, Laurens, Lumpkin, Marion, Murray, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Pickens, Rabun, Schley, Spalding, Stephens, Sumter, Talbot, Treutlen, Troup, Washington, White, Wilkinson

North Carolina: Cherokee, Clay

South Carolina: Oconee

Tennessee: Polk

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov