

USDA Designates 18 Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | South Carolina | June 29, 2023

One Contiguous County in South Carolina Eligible for Assistance

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Freeze

Application Deadline: 02/26/2024

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Banks, Jackson, Peach, Crawford, Johnson, Pike, Fannin, Macon, Taylor, Gilmer Madison, Towns, Habersham, Meriwether, Union, Hall, Monroe, and Upson

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Barrow, Franklin, Laurens, Spalding, Bibb, Gordon, Lumpkin, Stephens, Butts, Gwinnett, Marion, Sumter, Clarke, Harris, Murray, Talbot, Coweta, Hart, Oconee, Treutlen, Dawson, Houston, Oglethorpe, Troup, Dooly, Jasper, Pickens, Washington, Elbert, Jefferson, Rabun, White, Emanuel, Jones, Schley, Wilkinson, Forsyth, and Lamar

North Carolina: Cherokee, Clay

South Carolina: Oconee

Tennessee: Polk

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov