

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Rosebud Sioux Tribal Lands in South Dakota as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Qualifying Winter Storms

News Release | South Dakota | July 27, 2023

View PDF

Non-Tribal Contiguous Lands and Counties Also Eligible; Designation Applies to Nine Counties

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Rosebud Sioux Tribe

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Severe Winter Storms and Snowstorm that occurred from Dec. 12 to Dec. 25, 2022

Application Deadline: Oct. 20, 2023

Primary Eligible Tribal Lands: Rosebud Sioux Reservation

Contiguous non-Tribal Lands and Counties Also Eligible:

South Dakota: Tribal Lands and Non-Tribal Lands in Bennett, Gregory, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Todd and Tripp

Nebraska: Cherry

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov