

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Four New York Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | New York | November 08, 2023

View PDF

For More Information Contact: Lynnette Wright

lynnette.wright@usda.gov

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New York

Triggering Disaster: Flash Flooding and Excessive Rain

Application Deadline: 7/3/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Ontario, Ulster, Dutchess, Putnam

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New York: Monroe, Wayne, Livingston, Seneca, Yates, Steuben, Delaware, Sullivan, Orange,

Westchester, Rockland, Columbia, Greene

Connecticut: Fairfield, Litchfield

Massachusetts: Berkshire

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet,

and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov