

USDA Disaster Designation for Drought Issued for Five Iowa Counties

News Release | Iowa | May 30, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for one (1) county in Iowa as primary disaster area for drought. Additionally, four (4) Iowa counties are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Secretarial Declaration Number: S5421 Emergency Loan Application Deadline: January 30, 2024 Primary Counties Eligible: Plymouth Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Cherokee, O'Brien, Sioux, Woodbury Disaster Description: Drought. April 1, 2023, beginning date of incident period.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov