

Three Iowa Counties Impacted by Recent USDA Disaster Designation for Drought

News Release | Iowa | April 15, 2023

View PDF

A Secretarial Disaster Designation has been issued for one (1) county in South Dakota as a primary disaster area for drought. Additionally, seven (7) counties across South Dakota, Nebraska, and Iowa are contiguous to the disaster area. This determination will allow the Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loans to be made available to eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses in the primary and the contiguous counties to the declared disaster area.

Secretarial Declaration Number: S5400
Emergency Loan Application Deadline: December 14, 2023
Primary Counties Eligible: Primary counties located in South Dakota
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Plymouth, Sioux, Woodbury (Iowa)
Disaster Description: Drought. April 15, 2023, beginning date of incident period.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. Visit the <u>USDA Disaster</u> <u>Designation Information</u> site to view a full listing of disaster designations. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov